We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Outstanding & Top-Notch”

Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasilof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, Outstanding & Top-Notch”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The owners, Steve & Jeanne Maltby, are truly one-of-a-kind people - friendly, sensible, well-rounded Alaskans. The manager, Jackie, was welcoming and attentive. This definitely made a difference in our stay compared to other Alaskan lodging businesses we've experienced over the years. That said, the Kasilof River Lodge is very pleasant, clean and accommodating. My husband and I and our four girls had a wonderful family 5 night/6 day stay. On the first night, we stayed in the main lodge's king room w/ private bath, then moved to the cabin called Bear's Den which had a private bath & kitchen for the rest of the time. Our family was quite comfortable in both places. We also used the lodge kitchen & bathrooms which were impeccably clean. The girls enjoyed running around the spacious grounds; their favorite thing was the swing :)

We went to the Kasilof river mouth for our annual dipnetting family vacation. The girls had a blast catching the fish (sockeyes/reds) in the 'big net.' My husband was very impressed with the help he received from Steve, who also provided vacuum-sealed bags and a professional vacuum sealer. During the fish processing, Steve talked to my husband about clamming around the area. He recommended Clam Gulch & Ninilchik but we wanted something closer to the lodge so he gave us directions to a really great beach. We went the next morning. The girls and I have never clammed before - that was such a great time. My husband was kept busy trying to show us what to look for and how to dig. I'll always love that family experience.

Not enough Kudos to the Maltbys and Jackie - thank you sooo much for helping make another family memory and being apart of our future conversations of "dipnetting vacations' past."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keiki_Patricoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Visited the lodge with friends for a fishing trip. Jeanne and Steve made all of the guide arrangements for us in advance. The guides chosen were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our fishing trips and caught our limit most every day. Arrangements were made for deep sea fishing out of Homer, King salmon fishing on the Kasilof and Kenai rivers and a fly out trip to see he bears and fish for silvers and sockeye. Jeanne and Steve had great facilities for processing your own fish if you liked. I recommend the meal plan as well as the guides were constantly eyeing our lunchs packed by Jeanne! Wonderful trip and we will definitely return. If you plan on fishing and staying here, I would recommend a day between each guided fishing trip to give yourself time to recover and enjoy the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFPlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Three days before our fishing trip out in the backwoods of Alaska it got cancelled. My Father,sister, and I decided we would fly into Anchorage anyway, and just wing it. I called many places around the Anchorage area, but no one was as helpful to get an idea of what to do than Steve ( lodge proprietor). I booked one night at Kasilof lodge, thinking we would stay one night and if we didn't like it we would move on. We didn't go anywhere!!!! What an awesome spot he has there! He also got us "hooked up" with many fishing trips around the area. He has a place to clean and filet your fish and freezers to keep them in. Even if you aren't in Alaska to fish, this place is so peaceful and relaxing, it would be a lovely getaway to just chill. The cabins are comfortable and have everything you need. I believe that two of them come equipped with there own bathroom and kitchen, while the other cabins have a bathhouse and chow hall that is fully equipped. There is even laundry on site! We stayed in cabin #2 with a kitchen and bath. We cooked dinner every night(fresh salmon and halibut caught that day)! It is just an all around awesome spot! Can't say enough good things! Thanks to Steve for all his help and accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great place, very quiet and clean comfortable cabin. Wonderful breakfast served each day and a very acccomodating owner. Steve was very helpful in arranging a fishing guide
and helped us with our salmon catch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj8305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Simple, affordable cabins with owners with local expertise! The location of the cabins make fishing in the early AM a pleasure. The owners made the trip, they got us on the right fishing trip for us ( which was important given my wife had NEVER fished before), packed us an unbelievable river lunch (obvious restaurant experience), and were helpful in every facet of our trip - planning hiking before and after our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kasilof hotels
2.8 mi away
Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Gallery Lodge
Gallery Lodge
#3 of 5 in Kasilof
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 5 in Kasilof
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins

Property: Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins
Address: 27308 Johansen Dr, Kasilof, AK 99610
Location: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kasilof
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins offers riverfront cabins and rooms -- the ideal locale for your Kenai Peninsula Getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasilof River Lodge & Cabins Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing