We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure and "Tinker" is a great hostess”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Keex' Kwaan Lodge

Keex' Kwaan Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keex' Kwaan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kake
Chewelah, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure and "Tinker" is a great hostess”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Was booked into the lodge, but then found out about the "Superintendents" house which is located below the lodge on the boardwalk to the old cannery. The house has three bedrooms, is full of rustic charm and is also on the National Registry. It is in the process of some needed repair, but you soon forget that after you've spent an evening on the porch watching the sunsets, eagles and marvel in the scenery. Because it's off the beaten path, it's also very quiet and I had several great nights of sound and peaceful sleep. I was there for a week and I would highly recommend this as an alternative if the lodge is booked, which it often is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artdirect_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sitka, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's very unusual to find such nice accommodations in a small Alaskan village. Clean and comfortable, and they even serve a limited menu; the only restaurant in Kake. Beautiful ocean views from the room, and you can probably see bears within a half-mile. One was blocking the runway when we tried to take off. In addition, Kake is a really interesting traditional Tlingit village, with wonderful people and lovely scenery. The lodge is owned by the tribe, so it supports the whole community. Kake doesn't get many tourists, so I think most of the clientele are there for business.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaSeaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Tinker the owner manager has a top notch place on her hands. She is more than happy to pick you up from the airport and bring you to the hotel. The lobby is nice and full of AK artwork and other trinkets worth looking through. The rooms are nice, clean, have a refrigerator and microwave. These come in handy if you have to stay a few days b/c there is no place to go out to eat~

Room Tip: ask for ocean view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKtravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

We had stayed at Keex Kwaan 2 different times, 2004 as well. After a short scenic flight from Juneau, you land in the unique town of Kake. We were unguided hunting along the Inside Passage. We were treated fantastic and the lodging and food was very very good. The gals who worked the lodge also did the cooking and they always took great care of our group. The hamburgers were large potions and delicious. I appreciated how over and beyond we were treated on both our stays. Super nice people and wonderful community!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wyoming82072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keex' Kwaan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keex' Kwaan Lodge

Property: Keex' Kwaan Lodge
Address: PO Box 207, Kake, AK 99830-0207
Location: United States > Alaska > Kake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kake
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Keex' Kwaan Lodge Kake, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing