We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Life changing adventure!

Captain Louis Hoock is amazing! We sailed the inside passage of Southeast Alaska and he sailed us... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2019
NewMexicoManAbq
A once in a lifetime experience!

After much debate about the best way to see the Southeast Alaska coast, we settled on Alaska... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2019
ShaunGDavey
,
Porlock, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
23
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
23
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain louis southeast alaska ate like kings once in a lifetime bald eagles sailors sailed sights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2015

What a fantastic trip with Captain Hoock( yes his real name). Six of us went from Sitka to Juno in his 54 foot sailboat, which was both comfortable and sea worthy. Captain Hoock is a knowledgeable and expert captain who has a great eye for seeing the wildlife. He is a marvelous chef and even planned and cooked for two people on our trip who were gluten free. On our last day at sea he made crab (caught the night before in his crab pots) cakes Benedict.
What a wonderful trip. I'm ready to go again!

Date of experience: June 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Debbieham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

We had a great time sailing on Arcturus. It is warm and super comfortable. We saw whales and caught lots of fish, hung out in hot springs, went hiking.Captain Hoock is fun and knows his stuff--and a great cook besides. It was a fantastic vacation, and we would do it again in a minute.

Date of experience: July 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lorena1of1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

We sailed with Alaska Adventure Sailing on a 4-day tour of Sitka Sound and it was great! During the day it was hot springs, fishing, animal watching, hiking, and sailing; nights were spend eating and sleeping on the boat. Each night we anchored at a different place - all beautiful. The boat "Arcturus" comfortably slept a party of 6. Captain Hoock is a very capable sailor, cook, guide, and overall entertainment specialist, with wide knowledge of local things to see and do. Highlights were Goddard Hot Springs, sea lion locales, puffin rookeries, a climb up Mt. Edgecomb, and a visit to an Alaska state salmon hatchery. I highly recommend it!

Date of experience: June 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank thomaswP2285UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Captain Hoock made an amazing experience for us for 8 days on his boat. We sailed from Juneau to Sitka and along the way saw humpback whales, brown and black bear, seals, porpoises, sea otters, many bald eagles. We caught and ate fish and crab every single day. The soak at the Hot Spring was absolutely divine - there were hardly any other people there. This is an amazing experience for families, couples, groups of friends...everyone really. So awesome!

Date of experience: June 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Stepped aboard in Sitka and the adventure was on. Cpt. Hoock is a top notch sailor, fishing guide, and cook who shares his extensive knowledge of the areas flora, fauna, history, and natural features. Every day brings a new scenic sail and every night a gourmet meal or a feast of the days catch in a secluded bay. Arcturus S/V provides a comfortable well equipped platform to experience SE Alaska in an intimate relaxed way.

Date of experience: June 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank davidvH1517VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews