We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Peak District
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay in May was an enjpyable experience. the hotel itself and our room were very well equipped with nice facilities.
The food in the Restaurant (we had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts) was very enjoyable with a good range and very large portions. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and most helpful advising of places to see.
We would recommend Grandmas to certain of our friends, but not to our Grandma, she would have trouble getting on to the bed as did I only being 5'3'' maybe some steps would have been helpful, also I requested extra piloows which we didn't get.
Though this didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R00tsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. We highly value your feedback concerning the service, staff and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you enjoyed Grandma’s unique charm. We are fortunate to have many different room configurations. Our staff would be happy to show you other rooms should we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    87
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
182
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our three-night fray at Grandma's. the rooms are quaintly decorated with dressers, side tables, a wardrobe and a round table with arm chairs. The rooms have a large, and I do mean large, whirlpool in an alcove at the end of the bedroom. The place has been designed for comfort and having stayed at four other hotels and inns in Juneau, the is definitely the friendliest and most comfortable. We love this small hotel that's about 3.7 miles from scenic Mendenhall Glacier.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and accommodations. Our goal is to consistently provide you with outstanding service each and every visit. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of the few places where the rooms looked as nice as the internet photos, kudos. Our room was very nice and quaint. The restaurant they have here was awesome and was even recommended by the one of the locals here in town. The service from the staff was excellent. We definitely recommend staying here. They also offer a shuttle service to and from town and to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments concerning the staff, service and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you were able to enjoy Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My partner reserved this place and I was actually very keen to stay here seeing it's highly recommended by other reviewers here.

It's a rather oddly put together from the outside in; the room with stairs to the in room jacuzzi surrounded by carpeting instead of slip-resistant tiles, stairs to their toilet which was not insulated with cold floor and walls, the sink was separate at the top of the stairs. There are windows looking into the hallway. The LCD TV monitor was mounted crooked. The bed's height was much higher than normal that I had to hop up onto the bed. After taking a jacuzzi which was too tight for two overweight people, the humidity was uncomfortably high that we left the room. There's a table in the room that was square and not really adequate for a decent desktop workspace. There's a mini-fridge and an old dial face microwave. I had my laptop and wanted to hookup to their monitor with my HDMI cable but no convenient AC outlet was readily available until I moved the mini-fridge out of it's position to find an AC outlet to power my laptop. Wi-fi worked fine throughout the hotel. Complimentary shuttle service available by advanced reservation and to/from the airport.

Breakfast was included and comprised of two parts. The first part is what is presented in the dining area with coffee, heavy pitchers of juices, yogurt, fresh sliced fruit, cold cereal, milk, overly sweet cut-up muffins, cut-up pastries. The second part consists of any three items from that list may be ordered such as pancakes, eggs, omelet, potatoes, toast. The toast was burnt, the omelet fair. No tea was seen.

Just because it's recommended highly by others here, it's still only a guide and it's my own experience that matters to me/us in the end. Bottom line, not recommendable by us to stay here, this place could use a serious makeover from Bauer/Clifton. Look elsewhere for a more conventional lodging for less.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sorry to learn of your experience during your recent stay at our property. It is unfortunate that the first time we heard of your dissatisfaction was from your review here on Trip Advisor. This type of feedback is rare for our property, but we will use it to improve in any way that we can. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your level of expectation for this particular stay. Grandma’s Feather Bed was originally built as a restaurant and later converted to a country inn with 14 rooms. We feel that this unique layout is part of Grandma’s charm. We are fortunate to have many different room configurations. Our staff would be happy to show you other rooms should we have the opportunity to welcome you back. If you would like to discuss your stay with us further please contact me directly at 907-789-5005.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice room, very affordable, enjoyed the whirlpool tub. Tasty affordable breakfast made to order was included. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. There was a mini fridge, coffee pot and microwave in the room. I was looking for a tub big enough for two comfortably. The tub in the room was nice, but a little cramped if it is meant for two.

Room Tip: Show up early in the day. Ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenlrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We highly value your feedback concerning the accommodations at our property. We are pleased you were able to enjoy Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

my husband and I visited this Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon, it was fabulous. The rooms were very homey and you had a very cozy felling. The beds were very comfortable and the owners are very friendly and made you feel like family. Very centrally located near restaurants and shopping. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Juneau.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packalunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our property. It continues to be our goal and priority to make every stay a memorable one. We are glad you were able to appreciate Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Grandma's is most likely the best place to stay in Juneau, and probably the entire South East. Among other amenities they offer free coffee in the morning and free shuttle service. And, their breakfast is probably the best in town…and it is gratis for guests! This is the only place I will stay or recommend in Juneau.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger then others so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments concerning the staff, service and accommodations at our property. Seeing comments such as yours is very rewarding and motivating to everyone involved. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.8 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
8.0 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
8.0 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#4 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Juneau
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Property: BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
Address: 2358 Mendenhall Loop Rd, Juneau, AK 99801-8001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed, the smallest hotel in the world's largest hotel chain, comes complete with deluxe suites and is the perfect place for a weekend getaway in beautiful Juneau, Alaska. All 14 guest rooms are designed especially to meet your vacationing needs. Each guest room are designated non-smoking with single queen feather beds for the ultimate in comfort. Sink into your in-room Jacuzzi and let the comfort take you away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grandma`s Feather Hotel Juneau
Best Western Juneau
Best Western Hotel Juneau
Juneau Best Western
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing