We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Grandma's is quite nice. The softest bed I have ever been in, a nice big jacuzzi bathtub that two can fit in, and free shuttles to anywhere you need to go (really helpful). The location isn't great, but if you are just in town for a day or two, and are heading from the airport to the ferry terminal, need to do some shopping, etc, then it is perfect.
I thought the service was first class, and it was run well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali-2-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    97
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
213
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were here in June for two nights as we arrived in Juneau and before taking the ferry to Sitka. The location is only a couple of miles from the airport and there's a shuttle available if you need it. We were tired out from our transit from Asheville, North Carolina to Juneau in a day and were arriving around 10:00 P.M. (for our bodies it was 2:00 A.M.). The staff was welcoming and helpful. We had never slept on a feather mattress topper before and it was wonderful, in fact, we're now looking into adding one to our bed at home. The breakfast was hearty and good. The place has a quaint feel, a hybrid hotel/B&B, but it works.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a 14 room Best Western near the Juneau airport. A full breakfast (served restaurant style) is included. With so few rooms in the U.S., one calls such a place a B&B - but it is a Best Western so it is part of a big chain of big hotels.

Service was excellent, both at the front desk and in the restaurant for breakfast. Room was immaculate and had a two-person jacuzzi in the room. Staff went out of their way to help and were very friendly.

NOTE!!!! The shuttle runs every two hours to downtown so if you miss it, take the city bus. There is a stop across the street but if you walk a few blocks until you are across from the Valley Restaurant toward downtown (left out of the entrance), the other bus follows the same path from there to downtown and alternates so you have twice as many buses. During most of the day, you can change at no charge at the mini-mall called "Nugget Mall" (where all the buses meet) to the express bus which runs with only one or two stops from there to downtown. Similarly, take the express back if convenient then change at the mall. The mall is within walking distance. On return, pick up either local bus to the Valley Restaurant if the express is not running or change to the local at the mall. I could never remember whether it is the 3 or 4 bus that stops by the hotel but if you go from or to Valley Restaurant, it doesn't matter as they separate between there and the hotel when returning and join there when going downtown. Fare is $2 ($1 for kids - no senior discount). Go to www.juneau.org/capitaltransit/ for more info.

Room Tip: We had 136 - end room on main floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mish_the_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this little gem of a hotel. We enjoyed our quirky little room (202) and being a married couple have no problem with the large Jacuzzi bath being in the room. This is the first time I have slept in a feather bed and it was so comfortable.
The meals were very good and we ate in the retaurant twice. We found no problem with the service, in fact just the opposite. Chris was especially good and although he was left to serve the meals and work on reception he did it all with good humour and efficiency.
There is a good free shuttle service to downtown Juneau and although it would have been nice if it picked uplater than 7:15 from downtown it did not spoil anything for us. In fact after 3 full days of mushing, whale watching and Glacier viewing it was probably a good idea to be back in the hotel in good time.
The only problem I had was getting in touch with the hotel to arrange to be picked up from the airport. The number that is given to ring from the airport arrivals did not work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel_TCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Grandma's during our recent stay in Juneau, June, 2012. We agree with the #1 rating for this B&B style hotel. They have an efficient shuttle system that will take you right downtown to Centennial Hall, quite close to all the restaurants and shopping, or pick you up or take you to the airport, as needed. The shuttle pickups were right on time and the staff driving the shuttle were all quite friendly. The restaurant was great, especially for breakfast and they had no problem with us taking breakfast foods up to our room when we had to leave quite early to catch a plane out. The restaurant was open for evening meals, or you could have food delivered to your room. Their overall customer service was over and above. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we will stay here again when we go back to Alaska.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel gets all these great reviews, and I can't understand it. I don't typically have unrealistic expectations or write negative reviews, but this one needed to be written because of how this property is misrepresented. It's "cute" - but in a disney-made-grandma-house kind of way. It's clean. Breakfast, while decent food, is a cluster-mess of people not knowing where to sit, what to do. There is one guy on staff trying to do everything. And while he had a great attitude about being the only one around, and while the housekeeping staff person stood aside and read the paper instead of helped him bus tables, there is no way he should be put in a position where he should have to apologize to every person he was serving breakfast to. I felt bad for him. This is management's issue, not his. Room 131 was horrible. The room is right next to the front desk and under the staircase. The people moving around upstairs and coming up and down the stairs started about 4:30 am announced by creaking floorboards. It was super loud. The shuttle goes into town but only on odd hours (3, 5, 7) and stops at 7pm -- when it stays light out in Alaska this time of year until 10 (at least). A taxi out here from downtown is $30+. I would stay somewhere else if I came back - probably in downtown Juneau for convenience (we did not have a car).

Room Tip: Don't let them put you i Room 131 and probably stay upstairs so you don't hear floor boards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durangotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Room had a strange layout. Shower/tub was open in the middle of the room - hope you have no modesty with fellow guests ! Bathroom was a tiny closet. To get to the sink, you had to walk to the other side of the room. Could only see the TV from the bed.

However, restaurant was really nice. Attentive service, relaxing view of the woods. Food was good - in fact, the best we had in Juneau. Hearty breakfasts included with the room. Dinner had some good selections. Decent prices too.

Hotel was very clean and well maintained - sort a rarity for Juneau from what I hear.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cactusgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
8.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
7.5 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Juneau
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed

Property: Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
Address: 2358 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801-8001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Juneau
#1 Best Value Hotel in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed, the smallest hotel in the world's largest hotel chain, comes complete with deluxe suites and is the perfect place for a weekend getaway in beautiful Juneau, Alaska. All 14 guest rooms are designed especially to meet your vacationing needs. Each guest room are designated non-smoking with single queen feather beds for the ultimate in comfort. Sink into your in-room Jacuzzi and let the comfort take you away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grandma`s Feather Hotel Juneau
Best Western Juneau
Best Western Hotel Juneau
Juneau Best Western
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing