We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Juneau
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
34
52
27
28
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
52
27
28
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass shared bath old west fun bar coin laundry gold rush douglas island velvet foyer docks capital
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 178 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2019

The Alaskan Hotel was built in 1913 So it is a Historical Sight. the rooms are clean the towels and linen are fresh and the water pressure and hot water is fantastic. I wasn't expecting a 4-Star Hotel but this place has Charm and is a Gem. The manager on Duty his name is Mike took great care of us and helped us and answered all our questions. n his day Off he even gave us a Tour around his Town. I recomend this as a must visit. Be sure to ask for Mike at the desk when you check in.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

The Alaskan Hotel won't appeal to everyone, but we warmed to its charm because of the central location, the low price, and distinctive western look. It was built in 1913 and the general bones of the building have been preserved. Warning- there are 43 steps to the third floor. People are seldom placed on the second floor because the music from the Alaskan Bar filters up. Rooms are unique. Some have private baths, some double beds, some twins, some TVs, some shared baths. The arrangements remind us of European lodging. Thankfully our room had a refrigerator and a microwave. There was also a stovetop with some cooking utensils for those who use them. Beds were comfortable but the pillows made us stiff. Rooms are clean and quiet. For 2 nights, we had a shared bath but it was kept spotless and was used only by us. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. The carpeting, the dark wood, and many of a kind furniture pieces and mirrors harkened back to another time. The price fit our budget. If you want an adventure, try The Alaskan Hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 610travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

If you must stay here, go ahead. We pick this place based on the fact that it advertises as a historic site. We were assigned room 217 directly above the bar. We could hear the music and smell the pot. The attached picture shows the view we had from our window. The room was hot and stuffy. We borrowed a fan from the reception desk. The ice machine didn't work.

The staff was very friendly and I am sorry the owners don't do a better job at keeping up this place, it could be a gem.
We had reserved two nights but left as soon as we could. Found a place closer to the airport. Public Transportation is good and unexpensice and the city is not as large, so it was a good choice for us.

Room tip: Do not take room 217
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertha_SAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

Not highbrow but oodles of charm and olde worlde charm. I felt like I'd traveled back in time from the moment I stepped into the atmospheric foyer. No-one fusses over you but the service is good, at times quirky and everything gets done. It's slapbang in the middle of Old Town which is a great bonus. You can just about crawl anywhere, never mind walk. We left for a few days and came back again; our luggage was stored with a smile and no extra charge. They phoned taxis for us and when I wanted to take a beer from the bar to the room they explained that according to the law it was not allowed but kindly directed me to the liquor store across the road. Speaking of the bar, it was pumping. Great music, lively atmosphere, impossible to resist. The bar counter feels as if it is from the time of the gold rush. The bar alone is enough reason to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank IlseZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2019

Thank you for your great review. You have made my day
Bettye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

I like to drink with the locals, you know you are not going to get ripped off.
It was like going back in time to the old wild west, haha!
Beer was good, only had a drink and the atmosphere is an experience

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Larkins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews