We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming historic hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed on a family trip in July. Booked by phone which was a good idea as each of the rooms in this 100-year-old hotel is different and we were put in a room which was (just) large enough to have two rollaway beds. As a particular plus we had a view over the July 4th fireworks! The room was otherwise no-frills but perfectly functional - the kitchen had a fridge and stove but too few kitchen utensils (knives, forks, plates etc) for a family. Location excellent on the historic main street (obviously somewhat touristic these days). Hiking trails (Preservance, Mt Roberts) accessible on foot from the hotel, city bus terminal one block away. Wifi ok for web browsing and emails but too slow for Youtube etc. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Book by phone to discuss options as there are many different types of rooms in this historic hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 64eeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife, 14-year-old daughter, and I recently stayed at the Alaskan bar and hotel and we thought the place was terrific. The Staff are incredibly helpful and the manager Paul is a great resource of information. The rooms are basic (it's over 100 years old - what do you expect?) but they are nice, clean and have a lot of charm. It is located in the heart of downtown, close to shops, stores, restaurants and bars, which was very convenient. The bar next door has great beers on tap and they have live music most days.
Most hotels are 'just a place to stay' when on vacation and are forgotten very quickly after you leave. I feel that the Alaskan Hotel and Bar, is a part of the experience of our vacation and will be remembered in a very good way when we think back on our holiday.
I can stay in a "chain" hotel anytime I want - it's rare that I get to stay in a 100 year old building with such character. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Griffin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I would give this a zero if I could.

The hotel claims it is smoke-free, but it only went smoke-free recently, so the rooms stink like smoke.
The window opens and behind it is a wall with a sewage area beneath and the stench is horid.
So, you are stuck in a window-less room that reeks of smoke.

Sleeping on the bed was like sleeping on rocks. The mattress creaks with every breath.
The "kitchenette" is an old stove and non-working refrigerator right next to your bed.

The entire hotel is absolutely disgusting!!!! Spend the extra money to stay elsewhere and save yourself the time you'll spend the next morning trying to find a better place. This place should not be in business!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheburashkaIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

I personally feel awful about your experience at my hotel, The Alaskan Hotel in Juneau, Alaska.
We were totally full and opened up a room that is not open to the public for you and charged you $30 plus tax. In hindsight we should have turned you away, but felt that nay room was better than no room as the town was full also.
Bettye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Alaskan Hotel and Bar is the oldest in the city of Juneau, which is a very historic, yet contemporary and charming town, beautifully nestled between tall mountains and a major inlet of the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is not painstakingly maintained, but is all the more charming for it. It has a true vintage and sweetly funky feel. It's located right in the center of town on a happening street and upper floors have splendid views of the city, river and mountains. The staff are just terrific and the accommodations are very nice. They have both private and shared bath rooms. It is also very affordable. On occasion, the activity on the street can disturb sleep, but wasn't much of a problem most of the time.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing west are best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very helpful in hotel, especially regarding parking, rooms were clean, although with shared facilities. Bar had great selection of beers and very friendly staff. It was after if the whole premises has Bennett locked in time

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First, I must say that I disagree with vardis3, who called this hotel a "smoker's paradise." I stayed here in May 2014, and neither the hotel rooms nor the public places smelled of smoke. The location is great, the rooms were as clean as 100-year-old rooms could be, the bed was comfortable, the towels were fluffy.

That said, the hotel is not fancy. If you are looking for a romantic retreat with mints on your pillow, this hotel is not for you. If you're traveling with kids, the rooms are probably too small for you.

But if you want an idea of how people lived 100 years ago, this place is interesting and has a lot of character. The next time we visit Juneau, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: My travel guide said that the front rooms could be noisy (street noise), so we got a room near the b...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was above expectations. Picked up at dockside by courtesy car, assistant at harbour ticket office works at the Juneau Hotel so expert assistance given. Reception at hotel was very friendly. Room consisted of full kitchen, sitting room with TV, washing machine and dryer, 2 queen beds and excellent WIFI reception. Only problem no wine glasses! Loved the shower curtain.
Great location very close to supermarket and downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magpie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: $88 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing