We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Adequate for our needs”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent the night of July 13, 2013, here, prior to boarding a small-ship cruise the next day. The downtown location is very convenient, but the rooms are on the small side, baths smaller. The king bed was comfortable, the other furniture a bit dated but serviceable. We were on the fourth floor at the rear of the hotel. No A/C but slept O.K. with a window open. Walls are thin and we could hear TV in the adjoining room

Other family members had rooms on the street side and did complain of the Saturday night revelry disturbing them.

Staff was helpful, but front desk often swamped by tour groups checking or out.
Also a long queue at the computer to print boarding passes as only one of three available terminals was working. I was told the Westmark Hotels are owned by Princess/Holland America cruise line.

Room Tip: Rooms 423 to 433 are at the rear of the fourth floor and quieter. Avoid 408 and 409 which face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadready75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    144
    141
    60
    32
See reviews for
67
140
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

So if you need a room for only one or two nights in town, this is the place (personally if I had a longer stay I'd stay at one of the nicer b & b's in town or stay outside of downtown). Good location, comfortable beds and for the most part, clean. On the downside, as others have mentioned, the front rooms can be loud when the bars let out. This is especially true when it is rather warm in Juneau, and one needs to have the windows open to let in some air as we did. Note there is a desk fan provided. Use it for both noise reduction and air flow. The hotel is rather old and tired looking, and front staff never did seem happy or particulary helpful. For our situation, the hotel was adequate for the night, and except for the drunk people making noise at 1am, I really did sleep well.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for noise control, front rooms have a great view but can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of downtown. The staff went above and beyond - even allowed me to change my room when I realized I had inadvertently reserved a room on Hotwire with two twin beds and didn't charge me extra!

Bring ear plugs!! We could hear every word and every cough of our next door neighbor, and every car that drove by outside. The room was small, old, and tidy. The window opens for a nice breeze off the water (this was July).

Also, keep in mind half of Juneau is in the downtown area near the hotel, and half is 12 miles away in the valley near the glacier. There are only a few restaurants downtown, most are in the valley. However, if you don't have a car and want to see the sites it's easier to get a tour from downtown near where the cruise ships dock than in the valley.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marmot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a room on the third floor at the back which was very quiet but not a great outlook across the air conditioning vents. It was very warm in the room - in fact we needed the window open. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. Yes the decor is a bit dated but the hotel provides a comfortable stay. The location is good - not far to restaurants, shops etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ Shore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers a reasonably clean place to stay.
Stayed July, 9th. 55* and damp outside, chilly and a bit drafty in the room. Heat is provided by an odd baseboard that didn't seem to work. It's charm comes from it's old age, but some things were lacking.
Bedding was ok, but the pillows had an odor.
Breakfast was ok, but dinner was less than what I expected.
I think with the right management, this place could be a winner, but not so much as it is.
Also, it feels a little haunted. Not quite The Shining, but eerie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoggieBag59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The reason to stay here is the location. But otherwise, the furnishings are dated, the staff overwhelmed and the room small. We had dinner in the restaurant and I got an upset stomach. So did another member of our party of four. Food was predictable and dull.
There are some gems--paintings by Eustace Zeigler--worth checking in the halls of the hotel. The waiter said the huge painting inside the restaurant was one of two (three). it was the sole survivor of a fire that damaged the hotel a long time ago. What a pity...the paintings are wonderful scenes of Alaska by a respected realist painter.
The location means you can walk to all the wonders of Juneau--we did some hiking as well as touring from this base.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor. Maybe the rooms will be bigger?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorafromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

as previous posts have said, the Westmark Baranof is a little dated. But, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel could not be more convenient to downtown Juneau. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing