We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed May 26, 2013

TG - Sitka

Just recently finished my 6th stay there. & was reaffirmed why I no longer even shop around for a place to stay in Juneau. Best location in town. Front desk staff is always smiling & helpful, without being fawning. The room had a great view & I didn't mind the weather being bad because the bed was so big & soft I just cocooned & enjoyed it. Ordered room service 3 times, & the food was always promptly brought & delicious. Ate in the coffee shop & had a delicious breakfast. Unfortunately didn't get a chance to eat in the dining room. It's just a great place to stay in Juneau & I find it a great value as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG-Sitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Capital Cafe, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. We have a new Executive Chief and he brings allot of new tantalizing menu items to our restaurant.

Also, we recently replaced all of the mattresses and box springs and have updated the top of the bed program. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Baranof is a historic hotel and it is largely maintained to balance comfort and the original design. Tiny work out room but decent equipment. Small rooms but adequate, plumbing is modern. The location is great, just above the shops and bars and during the legislative session many deals are done at lunch in the cafe and the bubble lounge. The Baranof of course is where Bill Allen of the former Veco Corporation was recorded by the Justice Department paying bribes to the legislature and doing backroom deals. Service is polite but seemed harassed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaumeAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stay here often for work. The corner rooms are the ones to shoot for. Food is tasty (breakfast is my favorite), room service is very prompt and the bar is usually a good place to strike up conversation even if traveling alone. Wifi service is good in room and in lobby. Beds are comfortable, though room furnishings and fixtures are reminiscent of an earlier era. There is a gym onsite for those unwilling to brave a jog around town in the brisk air and there's never been a second person in there that I have seen. It's clearly converted from a guest room so the quarters are not spacious but it fits the bill if you are trying to burn off at least a little of the crab bisque from Tracy's. Front desk staff are friendly and attentive. Hotel is within easy walking distance to all types of stores, bars, restaurants nearby with little effort.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_JB_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Capital Cafe, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. We have a new Executive Chief and he brings allot of new tantalizing menu items to our restaurant. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!



Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our group stayed here for the week. Everyone seemed to have a nice experience. The rooms were fairly standard, nothing special, nothing out of the ordinary. Nice staff. The fish and chips at the bar were amazing! Also loved the salmon at the main restaurant.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank JennetteP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the fish and chips at the bubble room lounge, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable. Since your stay we have updated 70 rooms with new carpet and are continually working on updating our hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of those places I wanted to give a good review to but, there are to many things to overlook. First the good, this is a really old hotel by Alaska standards so it hold a,ot of history and charm. The lobby and bar have lots wood and are nice places to sit and spend time. The Rooms are old but remodled and beutiful, not run down. The things that should be left alone they have like the interior doors, and the windows still open all the way.
But the two rooms I have stayed in are small, very small. Sound proffing is non existant, we heard every conversation in the hall. We heard every flush of the toilets in the adjacent rooms. The first morning I was woke up by showers and toilets and by the guy the next door asking Rod where he wanted to get coffee!
Parking is a night mare, in fact some one ran into my car and the lady at the car rental said it is the site of the most damage.
To be fair Juneau has old narrow streets on steep hills, made for foott traffic not cars.
The strength of the is place is the staff, they will go the extra mile to make your stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodsthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.


Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

As others have said, there aren't many choices in Juneau for hotels. I chose this one mostly for its downtown location, which was very convenient. The first room we were given -- King suite on the 6th floor -- was pretty dismal. Out of date, smelled bad. We asked for one of the renovated rooms and were moved to a king suite on the 7th floor. It was better and provided us with a clean, functional place to stay for 6 nights. The management at the desk made an effort to give us a room that we would be happy with, and the housekeeping staff are really great -- very clean. Our room faced the back, so it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. Our heat stopped working in the middle of our stay, so the management delivered a space heater. This hotel should be a lot less expensive for what you get. A decent 2.5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banditkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

We continually renovate our hotel and have all new bed’s and top of the bed program. We are in the processing of installing new carpet this week! Another project we anticipate in the spring will be a newly painted Westmark Baranof!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

In Juneau there are not many choices - keep this in mind. Rundown:

Room: When I checked in I was given a king suite. The room was not remarkable - I would compare it to a Fairfield Inn. It was about low end average. It was clean and the room was fairly large. Basically a very small one bedroom apartment. I had a corner room and it was very drafty. It did not really bother me but I could see it being a problem for some.

Wireless: It worked well.

Location: Downtown - you could walk everywhere.

Food: I ate at the diner for breakfast, it was not great at all and a little rundown. I would probably go elsewhere to eat, there are other options in town.

Parking: The lot is in back and it is extremely cramped. If you have an issue w/ this sort of set up I would look for another option.

Bottom line - I'd stay here again due to the options in this city. It is an old hotel and you can tell an effort has been made to keep it up. Historically it is a good place to stay as far as saying you did. For this city it probably deserves a four star but compared to other cities - high two star low three.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FollowingtheEquator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our housekeeping staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
152 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#4 of 17 in Juneau
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: $128 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing