We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice tidy southeast Alaska hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice tidy southeast Alaska hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a great king bed, the room was very clean and the food was great. Had a great view of the water and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The location was very well placed for doing business at the Capitol building.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    123
    129
    54
    30
See reviews for
57
124
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Baranoff on three different occasions in December. Overall, the hotel is good. Older but has had updates over the years. Room was clean and bedding was average. Staff was great -- very friendly and helpful! Warm cookies in the lobby was a nice touch. The average room is a little small. My third trip was with the whole family (including a 5,3, & 2 year old) and we had a large suite that worked great for us. The suite was on the back side, no view but it was quiet. The two smaller rooms were looking downtown and towards the water and it was very noisy. You could also hear a lot of noisy within the hotel: alarm clocks, showers, voices, and door opening and closing.

Location is great! Juneau is small so it isnt hard to walk to anything downtown. Unfortunately, there was no airport shuttle and a cab cost $25 one-way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Baranof Westmark as your home away from home while in lovely Juneau and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable.

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Baranoff while In Juneau, it's an older hotel but nice. My room wasn't huge but comfortable with a great view of downtown Juneau and the Gastineau Channel. Staff was great there. All of the shops, restaurants and cruise terminal are right down the street, walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be helpful, knowledgeable and recommendation worthy. I will be sure to share your review with our team members. Our goal is to always provide top notch service. Again, thank you for choosing Baranof Westmark and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our capital city!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Westmark Baranoff Hotel is a typical chain hotel- comfortable but with no particular redeeming features. The window opened which was a feature I liked. Our room smelt a bit musty and the hotel needs a refurbish but otherwise, fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here in October of 2012. I knew when I went it would be wet most days. But the hotel is downtown, walking distance to almost everything I came to see. The hotel staff was friendly, answered any questions I had. The Gold Room had a great dinner menu, and food was good, as was the cafe. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: the room with the king bed was so comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Icefox907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Gold Room Restaurant, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. We have a new Executive Chief and he brings allot of new tantalizing menu items to our restaurant. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great rooms at a fair price. Nice hotel in the middle of town. Every staff-member is pleasant. After a few nights, it'll feel like home. You can walk anywhere. Restaurant is superb with comfy bar and lounge and nice bar-menu.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleenkaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be helpful, knowledgeable and recommendation worthy. I will be sure to share your review with our team members. Our goal is to always provide top notch service. Again, thank you for choosing Baranof Westmark and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our capital city!

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It gets the 4 stars because we get treated so well when we show up here. We are here for 2 weeks or more and they make sure we were taken care of. Manager gave us each a bottle of red wine.

It's really old but in relatively decent shape. There are alot of bad looking hotels here in Juneau but this looks nice and comes with a rudinemtary kitchenette.

Its right downtown and close to alot of things except places near the airport and out on the highway. If your looking for the least noisy place, this may not be it but bring a pair of earplugs. No pool either but then I don't think any hotel here has one. Free wifi and working elevators are a bonus!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheProf_VanIsleBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

We continually renovate our hotel and have all new bed’s and top of the bed program. We are in the processing of installing new carpet this fall. Another project we anticipate in the spring will be a newly painted Westmark Baranof!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing