We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I've spent 4 nights in the hotel, it was wonderful. The manager and all the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and the location was awesome. directly to the franklin street. Many thanks again to the team hotel
Christophe Rochat from Switzerland

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davos-Klosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing Baranof Westmark as your home away from home while in lovely Juneau and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We’re elated to hear that you had such a pleasant time during your recent stay! We set out each and every day to create unforgettable experiences to our guests and from the looks of it; you were able to accomplish exactly that!! Its reviews like yours that keep us all inspired and committed to providing the best possible service to all our guests!

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro
Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Juneau is an interesting place - depending on whether or not the cruise ships are in port, the entire tone of the place changes. This hotel is located on one of the main tourist streets, meaning that from early in the morning (I think cruise ships dock around 6?) until quite late at night (on the weekend at least!) there is constant noise on the streets and outside the pubs. The rooms facing out onto the streets are not noise-proofed; in fact, noise travels quite significantly inside the hotel as well. We could definitely hear the people in the rooms beside and above us, and whenever people are wandering around or talking in the hallways you can hear every word.

However, the rooms are fine. We were staying in a fairly budget room, with only a double and single bed, which was a bit squeezy but we made it work. The radiator also barely worked, which made it a bit chilly at night. But the room was kept very clean, the bathroom was lovely and spacious, and the lobby of the hotel was very glamorous with soft lighting, comfortable chairs, a jazz pianist and what appears to be original fixtures and interior design.

To access Juneau's activities, the location of the hotel is great. It is a five minute walk to the cruise dock to get on the buses out to Mendenhall Glacier (absolutely visit this glacier, if you get the chance - especially during salmon season when you can see black bears at the creek), and easy access to shops, restaurants and the museum scene. Be aware that the restaurant scene in Juneau is quite lacking - especially for vegetarians.

I would probably recommend this hotel to others, but I would definitely try to get a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the main street. Also a higher floor is probably quieter. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ses_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a week in Juneau August 24 thru 30. Stayed at the Baranof ,had a room with kitchen , it was a great value. Kitchen was roomy, stove was small but served it purpose fine. Everything you needed to cook and eat with was supplied. Room was clean and housekeeping was very efficient. Did not eat in Hotel restaurant, although it looked very nice and seemed to be busy every evening. would definatly stay again !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sxmjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our housekeeping staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable.


Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The walls were pretty thin here so we could hear everything going on around us. The building is in a great location but in desperate need of a complete renovation. We stayed here for a long weekend and felt that while it was a descent place it was overpriced, still one of the better places to stay in Juneau.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allg00dnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

We continually renovate our hotel and have all new bed’s and top of the bed program. We are in the processing of installing new carpet this fall. Another project we anticipate in the spring will be a newly painted Westmark Baranof!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 463-3083 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are obliging. The coffee shop serves an excellent breakfast. The location is very good.

Our only problem was with noise. We stayed here twice. The first time we were on the fourth floor and the room had a locked door which connected with the room next to ours. Through this door we could hear the guy next door talking on his cell phone. We were woken at about 3 a m both nights by people outside shouting and screaming and tipping up trash cans.

On our second stay we requested a room on a higher floor and were given a small room at the side of the hotel and on the eighth floor. We slept peacefully.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor if you like to sleep with the window open. Otherwise, you'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Capital Cafe, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. We have a new Executive Chief and he brings allot of new tantalizing menu items to our restaurant. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!


Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 463-3083 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good - and we had a great view because our room was close to the top of the hotel (and therefore it was also quiet).
The room was large, bathroom ok and clean.
The staff was not overly friendly or motivated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nh9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be helpful, knowledgeable and recommendation worthy. I will be sure to share your review with our team members. Our goal is to always provide top notch service. Again, thank you for choosing Baranof Westmark and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our capital city!


Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

OK I read the reviews and was duly warned that this is a modest hotel in need of upgrading. Right on except the pricing is not modest.
We arrived from our $25 airport taxi ride in mid afternoon and found nobody to greet us or help drag our luggage inside. Once inside two harried desk clerks were busy checking in new arrivals while we waited and waited some more. We couldn't sit down or stow our bags, just stand and wait.
Once it was our turn we were checked in and given keys and a restaurant discard. Not good for breakfast or bar. Anyway both restaurants were closed for the afternoon.
We found the elevator and our room on the 5th floor. Schlepping our suitcases down A very long and dimly lit hallway.
Once in our tiny room we tried to turn on the ventilation, there is none, then tried to open a window. When I was unable to open a window I called the front desk for help. 20 minutes later two different staff arrived . The first couldn't open the window either, the second succeed and advised us the window was broken. Fresh air at last!

This is the biggest hotel in a thriving tourist town, in the State Capital. It is old and rooms are tiny, but otherwise adequate, it really reminds me of old time hotels in small town America in the 1950's.

Now that we have open window ventilation we also have street noises and lights from nearby mega cruise ships.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip
Advisor. I am so sorry you had so many problems at check in.

Thank you again for sharing your trip with others who may be considering a stay
with us and looking forward welcoming you again in Juneau.

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#4 of 17 in Juneau
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#3 of 17 in Juneau
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing