We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Comfort, Privacy, Quality of Service in a Rustic Setting”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juneau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Fireweed House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 26 Juneau B&B and Inns
Tulsa, OK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Total Comfort, Privacy, Quality of Service in a Rustic Setting”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed in the Guest House which is VERY comfortable, roomy, and private. Although we did not spend much time there as we played tourist the whole time we visited and were out doing several things in the Juneau/Douglas area, the Guest House was great. Our welcome was warm but our privacy was respected. Advice on local sightseeing and activities was nice to have, too. The bed was very comfortable -- and that's important for me as beds other than my own often stress my back. We stayed for 5 nights and loved every minute. I very much appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom. The breakfasts are fantastic, effectively gourmet, plentiful and were left in the refrigerator with a note explaining the dish and instructions for heating. The kitchen is fully equipped with extras like great coffee, teas, hot chocolate drinks; some snacks and there's wi-fi and TV/dishnet. As a plus, the visiting Stellar's Jays were quite entertaining, too as they flew in to steal bread crumbs from the deck.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blatshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fireweed guest house for our honeymoon. We had an entire house all to ourselves and the experience was delightful. The house is very clean, cozy, and private (the house is nestled among the trees). It also has a full kitchen, a jacuzzi bath tub, and a washer and dryer. You have the option of having your breakfast prepared each morning. Jeff and Danith would stock our breakfast in the refrigerator the evening before, so all we had to do was heat it up and enjoy it at our leisure. It was nice not to have to worry about time constraints or waking up in time for a scheduled meal. AND, the food was absolutely delicious! We were spoiled with the best quiches and souffles that we had ever eaten. Jeff and Danith were also extremely considerate of our privacy and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and easy. They also seemed like really nice people. I highly recommend their bed and breakfast. The guest house would also be great for a family since it has two bedrooms, each with a king-size bed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at the guest house, a log house down a delightful path through the woods. It has a beautiful charm, easy to use kitchet, large comfortable beds and a wonderfully large tub with jacuzzi and two other shower head choices. It was very clean and up-to -date with cable and high speed internet. There is a floor to ceiling glass window looking out on the forest, a deck sourrounding most of the house and the romance of a a free standing woodburning stove (not the primary heat so don't worry if your not keen on building a fire). AK Fireweed is close to a wonderful Ski Resort in the Tongass forest so it is not all glitz but has great natural terrain with enough to challenge the best skiers. There is even first class groomed cross country trails at the base. Down the road near the shore there are excellent hiking trails that winch through the woods to the shore. We even spotted an Orca while driving along the shore. Owners Jeff and Danith Watts are great cooks and will make you feel right at home. Time it during the the Alaska Folk Festival in April as we did and you are in for a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

AK was great. We stayed in the building next to main house. Two kids and two adults fit great! Jeff's breakfasts were awesome. Had many choices. They gave us great ideas for hikes. Not to many choices in Juneau and this place was a winner!

  • Liked — Love B&B's, good location, great breakfasts, and nice hosts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Stayed here a few summers ago, with family members for the Juneau Marathon. I was hesitant, because I don't consider myself a B&B kinda guy, but I had nothing to complain about.

The Fireweed House is actually located on Douglas Island, across the river from Juneau proper. It is about a 10-minute drive to downtown. We stayed in the private guest house (there was also another guest house with maybe 2 units in it). It was a 1-story cedar house with a wraparound deck. It seemed to be in immaculate condition. It has two bedrooms, a bath, and a large kitchen and living room area. It also had full DirectTV satellite which was very nice! The fridge was stocked with restaurant-style butter patties and a few other things, and soap/shampoo and soft towels were provided in the bath. My only gripe was that there were not full window coverings in the living room, where I was sleeping--Juneau doesn't get completely dark until like 2am during the summer (then sunrise starts at about 4am).

It is located on lushly landscaped grounds. I'm pretty sure there wasn't a pool (of course you could probably count all the pools in Juneau on one hand, its summer days are 60-something degrees and overcast).

The breakfast room was in another building close to the river (which I think was the owner's house, and may also have had some more guest rooms in it). The tables were set against big picture windows. They served a multi-course breakfast, with a parfait and then a hot meal. They were willing to accommodate special requests (e.g. no dairy).

All in all, a very good stay. I can't say it converted me into a B&B guy, because I still prefer the anonymity and services of hotels, but it certainly hit all the bases in terms of meeting our needs and then some in Juneau.

  • Liked — Size, condition, cleanliness of unit; breakfast; owners
  • Disliked — Not walking distance to Juneau attractions, must have car
  • Tips/Secrets — Dine at Twisted Fish, check out the souvenir shops by the cruise terminal for cheap T-shirts
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelCriticDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
4.9 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 17 in Juneau
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
2.7 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
5.4 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fireweed House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fireweed House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alaska Fireweed House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8530 N Douglas Hwy, Juneau, AK 99801-7642
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alaska Fireweed House Bed And Breakfast Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing