We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very calming and god food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zen - CLOSED

Zen
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very calming and god food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

eventhough I rate this place as average its becaus e as chinese food goes its average other than its calming atmosphere and roominess fell of this restaurant. ususally restaurants try to pack you in elbow to elbowe but not this place...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nuuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Zen. The service was outstanding also. Free dessert for our birthday person. Very good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, harbor view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good hot and sour soup, great service, they have local crab and halibut. Zen is an easy walk-to from ships and downtown. That hot soup after the Tracy Arm tour (across the street) on a cold drizzly day hit the spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill31377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nothing much to say but tasty traditional Asian (mostly Chinese) food with a nice decor and good wait staff..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
632 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 846 helpful votes
“Pretty good Asian mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We found a nice quiet table here while 3 mega cruise ships were disgorging thousands of restaurant seekers. Asian food sounds pretty good when all the local fish places had huge lines of people waiting to eat $50 crab meals.
The service was friendly and cordial in this sparsely attended restaurant. A huge place with only 4 tables occupied by the time we left.

The menu was mostly Chinese specialties although some Japanese items were also available. Lunch menu was about $10 less for same specialties at dinner.

They were out of king crab legs even though it was advertised as a house specialty. How do you run out of Alaska crab in Alaska during the peak tourist season?

We chose two other specialties: Crispy Duck and Ginger Halibut. The duck was truly crispy and well complemented with good stir fried veggies. The halibut was well prepared and presented. The only caveat was that these dishes were priced over $25 each, a bit steep for similar dishes in the lower 48. We enjoyed our cups of soup ; hot and sour and egg drop. We had an appetizer of half dozen raw oysters which met expectations.

We had to request chili sauce and chop sticks. They were eager to sell me a second $5.50 beer before I finished the first. Also eager to clear our plates before we were done. We don't like being rushed.

Creme brûlée was so so.

4 different people had part in serving us but we were never quite sure who was our waitperson. The one who served us the least brought our check.

When the check arrived it contained a higher than expected total, including $5.50 for each beer. The total bil was about 25% higher than much better Chinese restaurants in Seattle. On the charge slip they inserted suggested tip amounts for 15% or 20%. A recent restaurant phenomenon that I find annoying. First of all I can do the arithmetic myself, secondly if service is really stellar I might tip more than 20%, but in this case 10% might have been closer to appropriate. They are subtly telling us that 15% is the minimum, and 20% is the preferred. The whole American custom of restaurant tipping is out of control. Why should I subsidize a business that pays their workers sub- standard wages and then be urged to reward mediocre service?

Anyway, when I see these forced tip suggestions I get negative vibes and it turned an otherwise pretty good diner into something less.

Helpful?
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing