We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale of a Trip”

Alaska Travel Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.50*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure
More Info
$141.75*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour
More Info
$141.75*
and up
Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Alaska Travel Adventures operates more adventure tours in Alaska than any other company. From whale watching to white water rafting and kayaking, all of our trips feature personalized attention and provide you with a chance to experience Alaska's natural splendor. Best of Juneau Glacier View Sea Kayaking Gold Mining & Panning Adventure Gold Panning & Salmon Bake Mendenhall Glacier Float Trip Mendenhall Glacier & Salmon Bake Mendenhall Lake Canoe Adventure Mendenhall Lake Kayaking Adventure Mendenhall Lake Kayak & Salmon Bake Whale Watching Adventure Whale Watching & Salmon Bake Whale Watching & King Crab Station Whale Watching & Sea Life Discovery Custom Hummer Excursion
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
League City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Whale of a Trip”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We took the whale-watching trip with Alaska Travel Adventures and had a very nice time. The boat was clean and fairly with comfortable with restroom facility on board. We had to ride for about 20 minutes before whales were sighted and we spent what seemed like two hours watching for whales and seeing lots of breaches and spouting. The scenery is so beautiful there. While we were watching the whales and the engine was cut, it was so quiet and peaceful. On the way back we got to see sea lions and a glacier. Bottled water was provided. We were taken to the pier in a nice little bus which picked us up at the end of the boat ride. We really enjoyed seeing the whales. If none had been seen then a large part of our tour cost would be refunded. But we saw lots of whales which made it worthwhile.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ssbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    143
    32
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome glacier experience!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had such a great canoe trip! Sam C., our guide was friendly, professional and extremely knowledgeable about glaciers and the local area. My mom and I learned so much from him and had a wonderful time out on the lake. It was amazing how close you are able to get to the glacier!!! This is a wonderful adventure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great family fun!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We always wondered what it would be like to pan for gold. Now we have a better appreciation of the work involved.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scrubbnutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington heights, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice float trip - far from the Glacier”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are looking for a white water raft trip - this is not it. Very tame and much more of a float trip. We took this trip specifically to see the Medenhall Glacier and the only disappointment was we were quite far from the Glacier. We were on the raft were the guide rowed - you also have the option of being on a raft that the tourists row. Our other friends took a bus for a lot less money and were much closer then we were. Staff on this trip were very pleasant and helpful in getting everyone in their rain gear and life preservers.
Our tour guide was also a lot of fun and kept everyone entertained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSS811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea Kayaking in Juneau, Alaska”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed the Glacier View Sea Kayaking excursion when our cruise ship stopped in Juneau. We saw many eagles and seals splashing near our kayaks. None of us had ever kayaked before but our guide, Sarah, explained everything we needed to know to feel comfortable on the water. Sarah was very knowledgeable about the area and made the trip very interesting. Our children are 10 and 14 years old and both enjoyed it. Even though there was light rain falling, we were provided with heavy rain gear that kept us warm and mostly dry. This is a great way to experience the wildlife and scenery of Juneau.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 460AngelaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Travel Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Travel Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing