We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like crabs this is the place to go”

Tracy's King Crab Shack
Ranked #1 of 138 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Location! We are a shack Serving all Alaskan King Crab, Snow Crab, Dungeness Crab, Crab Bisque, Crab Cakes and Crab Rolls. Beer & Wine available. Order at the window and have a seat. We will deliver to you. Seating is outdoors. We have a tent area with heaters on inclement days. No reservations necessary. We cook to order. Wait time for food is usually not longer than 10-20 min. Faster depending on selection. Locally owned by Tracy, a resident of Alaska for 20 years! We strive to offer the best crab experience at the best prices in Southeast Alaska. Thanks for stopping by!
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like crabs this is the place to go”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very friendly crew. I was there for the first time in my life and they treated me like an old friend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hovat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,369
    419
    94
    36
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Locals and tourists go - because the King Crab is the best”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went twice on our cruise to Alaska. We took a tour with a local guide and he told us that this is where he goes to eat crab. We had passed by before but it seemed like a tourist trap. Our cruise offered King Crab legs - but this place has the real deal.

The crab bisque is thick, creamy, full of crab and divine. If it is cold this is the perfect soup to cheer you up. I have never had better.

The King Crab is just as the name implies - huge. Also sweet, perfectly cooked, tasty and delicious. They come pre-cracked with everything you need to finish the job. I cannot find enough superlatives. If you go to Juneau - and think - tourist? price? - never mind - just order the King Crab and you'll know why this place is truly the BEST!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A little pricey but worth it! Everything we ate was excellent! The employees were friendly & helpful. The seating is all outdoors however they have a tent for the rainy days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“yummy!!! quick, easy and worth it!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ok – is this a touristy place to go...yes – is it a tourist trap – NO! the people are really nice – quick (espec nice b/c of time constraint of cruise ship) but YUMMY! We got the chowder and it was SO GOOD – so were the biscuits! And the crab cakes were wonderful – a bit spicy – but the good kind –not hot peppery – . loved it! really perfect when we literally only had 30 min to eat after our excursion - it was easy to eat as we walked (or you can sit there), it was the kind of food that warms you up after a long day! wish there was one local to me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kris0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Crab Heaven”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Tracy's is a great spot. Outdoor dining and crab legs is always a good combination, make it Alaskan King Crab legs caught fresh that day and it is truly heaven. The staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is fun and the food is yummy. I recommend the legs of course, but also the crab cocktail - crab meat already picked for you. The beer is cold and the legs are hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KShawnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tracy's King Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Tracy's King Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing