We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adventure in Authentic Dining”

Tracy's King Crab Shack
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: New Location! We are a shack Serving all Alaskan King Crab, Snow Crab, Dungeness Crab, Crab Bisque, Crab Cakes and Crab Rolls. Beer & Wine available. Order at the window and have a seat. We will deliver to you. Seating is outdoors. We have a tent area with heaters on inclement days. No reservations necessary. We cook to order. Wait time for food is usually not longer than 10-20 min. Faster depending on selection. Locally owned by Tracy, a resident of Alaska for 20 years! We strive to offer the best crab experience at the best prices in Southeast Alaska. Thanks for stopping by!
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An Adventure in Authentic Dining”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Tracy's King Crab Shack is unique, and one has to be ready for that. It is right on the water and looks like a fancied up state fair booth/large food truck. There is plastic-walled tent seating just steps away. This is THE most luscious crab I have ever had, buttery and succulent. Yards away one can look up at diners eating, insulated, aboard their enormous cruise ships. They were SO missing the point. Their sterile suppers could not compare to what we were enjoying, fresh from the sea, buttery and lovely. What a memory. This IS Juneau, in my never-to-be-humble opinion!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Toran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,547
    476
    110
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Crab Bisque over rice ... I still think about it. I'm not a fish or crab fan per se but I do like it in soups and stuff and it was so good. My husband's favorite is Dungeness Crab and he loved them. When you see it you will think you're in the wrong place but there you are! Price is high but good fresh crab is expensive everywhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sleevesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crabs, the good kind”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were getting tired of the regular fair on the cruise ship and we decided to reward ourselves with a treat when we hit land.

My wife was raving about this place she read about and that we must try it for ourselves, so twist my rubber arm and off we go to have some Alaskan King Crab! I like my crab legs simple with just a bit of butter and this was perfect. We shared a single crab leg for $13 USD, this was not lunch or dinner where we could have broken the bank as I could probably eat a dozen legs myself!
The crab leg was fresh and delicious, what more can one ask. The staff were friendly and when you ask to pose behind the counter with all the crab legs, they are more than happy to accommodate. I was not too keen on visiting Alaska, but the crab did make things a whole lot better ;)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FUN AND YUMMY!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Everyone told us Tracy's was a must-see. It was hard for some to find since it is down a small alley with little "shack" eateries. You will be eating outside under a tent with tables under it. Ordering is awkward and the cooks are not interested in being interrupted for questions -- but, the crab (what you really went for) is great. Expensive, but great. King crab legs, butter, rolls, and an Alaskan beer - wonderful -- and worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrswinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The food tastes amazing and freshly cooked to order - definitely recommended. I had Crab Cakes and I really enjoyed them. If you like Crab you will love it here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tracy's King Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Tracy's King Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing