We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we got closer”
Review of Tracy Arm Fjord

Tracy Arm Fjord
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wish we got closer”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was disappointed that the cruise to Glacier Bay was full but Tracy's Arm Fjord was well worth it. The cruise up and down the fjord is beautiful. The glacier and icebergs are amazing. My only complaint was that I wished they moved the ship closer. You arrive at Sawyer Glacier so early in the morning that the haze hasn't burned off yet. This haze really inhibited a clear view of what you were looking at.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank davidkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,870
    191
    30
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ice”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Loved the peace and quiet,and wonderfull scenery!! The ice flows and watching out for bears, yes and theres lots of them if you look hard enough, somtimes just walking ,or even fishing!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 504029Trevor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“breathtaking. undescribable.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

COMPLETELY worth it. The fjord is over 1000 feet deep despite being so narrow, so even big ships can sail through. Orcas accompanied us at the mouth, and we drifted by beautiful blue icebergs under a wide open clear sky. The mixture of green foliage and icebergs around us was gorgeous! the cliff faces are so close and steep I could almost reach out and touch them. At the end of the fjord you'll find a breathtaking photo op of a hanging glacier, which recedes a little more every year. It was the beginning of summer, so a little nippy and crisp outside.

Helpful?
11 Thank rantag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Can't say enough about this sightseeing trip. We cruised to the top of the fjord aboard Celebrity Infinity and saw the glacier up close and personal. The captain turned that ship around on a dime too. We saw waterfalls, seals, ice, and fantastic rock walls. The balcony was handy for this trip, and then the captain opened the helicopter pad at the front of the ship, and there I went for up close pics. A beautiful place. We were here in September, 2010, but I didn't have that date selection for this review.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“wonderful place to cruise”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

very cold for us North Queenslanders however we were prepared for the climate. Hot tea, soup and chocolate supplier by our Holland America Cruise was a great help in keeping warm-ish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank wazzaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tracy Arm Fjord also viewed

 

Been to Tracy Arm Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing