We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale watching and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Juneau Adventures

Juneau Adventures
Ranked #45 of 79 Outdoor Activities in Juneau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whale watching and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Captain Terry provided us with some amazing memories. We got up close with several whales and then were treated to a special "eagle surprise" at the end. I would highly recommend Juneau Adventures. My teenage boys said the excursion was the highlight of their cruise too. Thanks Terry!

Helpful?
2 Thank 4bbmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“One of a kind experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Captain Terry knows his stuff! What a great time! My girlfriend and I saw dall porpoises, humpback whales, sea lions AND caught our limit in halibut! And, I have to agree being in the middle of all those bald eagles is a once in a lifetime experience. This alone was worth the price, which was not bad since we shared the adventure with a family. Captain Terry is extremely skilled and at home on the waters of this area. And a heckuva nice guy. If you value unique experiences that give you a special view of an attraction, then Juneau Adventures is it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank T. Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whale-watching with Captain Terry and Juneau Adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family of six booked a whale-watching trip with Captain Terry and Juneau Adventures (juneauadventures.com) in June of 2014. To put it succinctly, this was an incredible experience in every respect. We have enjoyed many whale-watching trips, but this particular one was very special. Captain Terry located a big pod of orca’s where we encountered the largest single orca I have ever seen (this guy could eat Shamu for a snack), and we also enjoyed watching a good number of humpback’s. But the highlight was when Terry got us into a convocation of bald eagles; it was astounding! At one point there were probably a dozen bald eagles all around us……swooping within literally a few feet of our heads. After traveling all over the world, I’ve never experienced anything like it in my life. Terry called these eagles to us like someone would call for their pets. He is obviously very at home in these waters and doesn’t miss anything. In addition, he is one of the nicest and most accommodating guys you’ll ever meet. This trip with Terry was the absolute highlight of our Alaska adventure for our entire family. And his homemade crab-spread was amazing. Five-stars are not enough. I would give Captain Terry and Juneau Adventures a six-star rating if I could!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank petedemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shopping in Juneau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you are planning a Cruise to Alaska Juneau is usually your first port of call. This is the best shopping place and of course the red Dog salon is there a real must. Very authentic. Lots of eagles to view and several tours are available either by your ship on on the pier. Take in the Salmon Bar-b-que , it is pretty good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bev2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Juneau Helicopter Ride Via Temsco To Mendenhall Glacier To Dog Sled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Went to Juneau on a cruise in late May 2014 and took the Helicopter/Dog Sled adventure. The staff at Temsco Helicopters, Inc were very friendly and very knowledgeable. The ride both to and from the top of Mendehall Glacier was simply incredible.

The views were outstanding, and the ride was very smooth; our tour attendance Vinny when we were getting ready to board the helicopter was also very friendly and helpful. Also, the actual dog sled adventure was a once in a lifetime experience. If you are into beautiful landscape, this is adventure is for you.

Great job getting us there safely Temsco and making our overall experience incredible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juneau Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing