We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth a walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nugget Falls

Nugget Falls
Book In Advance
$79.00*
and up
Mendenhall Glacier Smartphone Photography and Hiking Tour
Ranked #4 of 79 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Falls are beautiful and Very Easy to reach via a short, flat trail. I imagine you might be able to even take an assistance device (motorized scooter) on it, but check first. You might not be able to reach the falls because of a stretch of beach, but you'd get close. It can get crowded with ships in port, so shoot for the beginning or end of the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank berkboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    130
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ahhhh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice and easy hike out to the falls from the parking lot for Mendenhall Glacier. Even I could do it and I am not the fittest person. Beautiful flowers along the path and nice view of glacier from here. Please do not climb up on the rocks by the falls to get your picture taken as I had seen others do. A few had a hard time getting down and others slipped.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Decemberborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,082 reviews
726 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Well worth the easy hike while at Mendenhall Glacier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was unseasonably hot when we visited and the ice cold mist of the falls felt so good. There are a couple trails that take you to the falls, we walked the more wooded one in and the beach trail back out. The spring was a little late in 2013, but I found some flowers for photos on the way- I'm sure July is beautiful.

The trail board says 20 minutes each way- I would allow 10-20 extra minutes plus photo stop time. The trail winds around a little, though not much elevation change- it is an easy walk, I guess time just passes quickly. The distance is 0.8mi each way on natural ground.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quick hike to an awesome view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took the 45 minute round trip hike to Nugget Falls! It was awesome and you get a great view of the Mendenhall Glacier from there! We saw lots of Bald Eagles up close and saw that the last bear was seen about 2 weeks before we visited.

The hike is quick and easy and there is a lot to look at! I suggest it because you can go right up to the falls. Feel the water and just feel how fresh it is!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmk5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
385 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice to see and an easy walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

When you walk in to see the Mendenhall Glacier, you will see Nugget Falls. They are full falls and you can walk right up to them. It's about a mile walk on an easy level trail. Parking is a lttlle tough, but most of the people come from the cruise ships by bus. The trails and visitor center will be crowded if there are a few cruise ships in port.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nugget Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing