We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the easy hike while at Mendenhall Glacier”
Review of Nugget Falls

Nugget Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Mendenhall Glacier Smartphone Photography and Hiking Tour
Ranked #4 of 83 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
746 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Well worth the easy hike while at Mendenhall Glacier”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was unseasonably hot when we visited and the ice cold mist of the falls felt so good. There are a couple trails that take you to the falls, we walked the more wooded one in and the beach trail back out. The spring was a little late in 2013, but I found some flowers for photos on the way- I'm sure July is beautiful.

The trail board says 20 minutes each way- I would allow 10-20 extra minutes plus photo stop time. The trail winds around a little, though not much elevation change- it is an easy walk, I guess time just passes quickly. The distance is 0.8mi each way on natural ground.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    145
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick hike to an awesome view!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took the 45 minute round trip hike to Nugget Falls! It was awesome and you get a great view of the Mendenhall Glacier from there! We saw lots of Bald Eagles up close and saw that the last bear was seen about 2 weeks before we visited.

The hike is quick and easy and there is a lot to look at! I suggest it because you can go right up to the falls. Feel the water and just feel how fresh it is!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmk5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
452 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Nice to see and an easy walk”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

When you walk in to see the Mendenhall Glacier, you will see Nugget Falls. They are full falls and you can walk right up to them. It's about a mile walk on an easy level trail. Parking is a lttlle tough, but most of the people come from the cruise ships by bus. The trails and visitor center will be crowded if there are a few cruise ships in port.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the little stroll.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my second walk out to the Falls. The first time was April, 2012. It was beautiful then, and we even saw mountain goats resting above the Falls. This time, May 2013, the Falls were even more impressive! The amount of water flowing, and the sound it created, was definitely worth the short walk out from the visitor center. I think we spent about an hour walking roundtrip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Gusher”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The falls is near the Mendenhall Glacier and was really roaring the day we were there due to heavy snow melt. Of the many, many falls we saw during our AK trip this one was the best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DWathenYoungstown_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nugget Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing