We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beers and fish tacos”

Alaska Fish & Chips Company
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Watch float planes take off and land at this indoor-outdoor seafood bar, serving a variety of fresh Alaska seafood. The specialty is Halibut & Chips, but you’ll also find fish tacos, reindeer sausage corndogs, salads, and regional craft beer.
Restaurant details
Description: Watch float planes take off and land at this indoor-outdoor seafood bar, serving a variety of fresh Alaska seafood. The specialty is Halibut & Chips, but you’ll also find fish tacos, reindeer sausage corndogs, salads, and regional craft beer.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good beers and fish tacos”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went here at the end of the Bike and Brew Glacier tour offered by our cruise ship. There was a long bar take reserved for the group when we arrived. Other than that table, there is not much other seating than the bar. We tasted several of the beers offers at the bar, then ordered some more after the tour was over. We also ordered some food, I had the fish tacos which where better than I expected. I typically am not a fan of fried fish in taco, but this was very tasty. The service was decent and the view was excellent. There were planes landing/taking off right outside this bar. We spent about an hour there and enjoyed the time we had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdlhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Fun outdoor eating”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is so popular it took two tries to get in. We had supper outdoors on a an August Tuesday about 6 pm. We ordered small cups of chowder served in bread loaves and 3 cones of fish (halibut, salmon and crab) plus 2 beers. Total came to $46 for three if us.

There is an inside bar overlooking the patio, so every seat has a view.

Food was prepared quickly and good. Nice selection of local beer.

Ordering can be confusing. Early evening orders are placed at an outdoor window. As the crowd grows orders are taken someplace inside but you pick them up at the outside window

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Fun View - Forgettable Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a decent mail at the Flight Deck. The view and atmosphere is perfect for an Alaskan visit. The outdoor tables look over a couple of sea planes and into the bay, typically to see a couple of cruise ships and planes coming and going. That's what you will pay for. The fish was nothing we will remember eating. The fries were pencil thin. It was an expensive lunch for two - $54 with a small tip (there is no table service), for two fish and chips, a beer and a soda.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service - what service?”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is great but that is about it. We wanted to sit outside and happened on this place. Right from the start when we had to ask a bus boy if we seated ourselves, we should have turned around and went in search of somewhere else but we didn't as we snagged a table. Then sat there with menus until we realized there was no waiters. Flagged down same harried busboy who said we order inside. Food was ok. Nothing special. Out of halibut. No crackers for the crab and no offer to find any for us. Just a harried worker saying. " They are all out there somewhere". The service SUCKED. I wouldn't go there again for food. Maybe a beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate here prior to our sea plane flight. Seafood chowder was great although very small portion as it is in a bread bowl. Shoe string fries were not that good. It is a fantastic atmosphere though as it is outside seating overlooking the harbor. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Fish & Chips Company also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Fish & Chips Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing