We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a try!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hangar On The Wharf

Hangar On The Wharf
Ranked #3 of 132 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kitchen Open Until 10:00pm. Hangar On The Wharf is Alaska's premiere waterfront restaurant. Located inside Historic Merchants Wharf, a seaplane aviation landmark, The Hangar features Juneau's largest and most diverse menu with 100+ beers and a full-service bar open late. Fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks, king crab, plus burgers, pasta, salads, chowders, craft beer and more.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a local tour guide who said it is good food and a mix of tourists and locals. That is exactly what we got. I was craving a hamburger and got a fantastic one. I know, I know, there is a lot more on the menu. So I can vouch for their hamburgers and their beer. They have a huge number of beer choices.
Of course, you should go with the local: Alaskan. It is really good beer.
Anyway, the place was hopping, but the got us seated pretty quickly at a booth next to a window. Great view of sea planes taking off while enjoying dinner.
I'd definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D-phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    416
    156
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great views and service. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I would fully recommend The Hanger. I have had a few afternoons in here and always enjoyed the food and beer!!
The view out over the Harbour is excellent, the float planes dock right outside. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank WelshWizard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped here after we got off our whale watching tour. It was pretty busy. We had about a 15 minute wait. I'm not much of a seafood person, but their menu had many options for me. I got the steak and it was probably the best I've ever had.A little pricey. Gorgeous view of the channel and mountains.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abracelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st night in Juneau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We so far have only experienced one downtown restaurant but I have to say the food was wonderful. They have lots of beer on tap some local others like the Rogue brewery from Oregon, great if you love beer like I do.
If you love great fish and chips I would have to say that you will not be disappointed. My wife and myself both had the rockfish and it was great, two large pieces and you could sub a different side if you didn't want the chips. I choose salad with ranch which was good and my wife had the coleslaw. I'm not a fan of slaw but after having a few bites of hers wish I would have taken that choice instead of the average every day salad.
If there was a down side I would say we waited a long time for a seat, we're not use to cruise ships on our normal destinations so I would recommend being patient if you have more than four in your party. There is open seating in the bar area but for at least an hour plus those were filled also but the Alaskan IPA helped to ease the pain.
Give it a try prices for the rockfish were $10.95 beer was $5.50 I think, figured that was a good price being that your in a tourist trap area. There were three different menus so I would recommend looking at all of them.
"Note to self never been on a cruise and after seeing all the people that invade a town it confirms I never want to"

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Food is always good, with a range of choices. Nice harbor view. Reservations are advised during busy times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGedlinske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hangar On The Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Hangar On The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing