We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely On The List”

Hangar On The Wharf
Ranked #5 of 144 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
“Definitely On The List”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food was in the very very good range. The views were great, I think the best reviews undoubtedly come from tourists who are trapped here and find this to be a better than hoped for experience.

The halibut (I had it off the bar menu) was excellent, the fries were upper good. The prawns were excellent also, but in the food's defense, it is a huge chore to mess up fresh sea food in Alaska.

I tried to get the waitress to substitute me the Cajun Prawns that they advertise as available to put on any steak, instead of the Tempura that they offer standard, but it was either a slow day (for her) or pretending to not understand is a way to get out of special orders. I did not try the Cajun.

The place was busy, the atmosphere bar typical (even though it was clearly a restaurant trying to offer fine dining) and the view is Alaska mainstream.

If you're on a cruise ship and this is the Alaska you want to see, then you will LOVE this place. If you're in for an adventure, then come here if you got time and it's extra.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    461
    174
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Views made it worth it!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Service was crap, waitress could have cared less that we were there, drinks went empty multiple times for periods of time. Food was great, bar quality. Halibut tasted fresh, fried perfectly. Fries were definitely of the freezer bag variety. Mushy and bland.

The views were the best part, it's right on the water overlooking the mountains on the other side. Great place overall!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank redneckITengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food here is good, but what you will remember is the view of the bay and mountains outside of their large wall-to-wall windows.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food with Great view!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the place to go when you have no real idea on what you might be craving. They have a little bit of everything, and the view is great. I highly recommend the Portobello Fries. They are awesome!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tdogbucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprise to see I could order a tasty vegetarian meal. It was well presented and delicious, service was good, friendly, we had to look for the server few times. The place was full and crowded at the time we went and hopefully next time the food will still be good and tasty and the service will be great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hangar On The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing