We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Atmosphere for Tourists with Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Dog Saloon

Red Dog Saloon
Ranked #4 of 132 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere for Tourists with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I had lunch at the Red Dog Saloon when visiting Juneau on June 7, 2014. The place was crowded and noisy, but had lots of atmosphere. The food was expensive but very good. Visiting as tourists, we thought it was a fun place. Piano player was quite humorous. I had the Hobart Bay Fish Basket which was beer-battered Alaskan Rockfish and potato salad. Very good. My husband had the Avalanche Burger which was a 1/3 lb. Angus Beef burger. He enjoyed it. Glad we went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationTravelerMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    636
    202
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Touristy and fun! Great bartender!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A must see tourist stop - from the music to the decor. This is not a fancy place - sawdust on the floors, cramped seating, and tons of eclectic things hanging on the walls. That being said, we had fun sitting at the bar and we had a very good lunch. Simple fare - bratwurst and fish and chips but very good. The bartender - a big bear of a guy - was engaging, funny and his service was spot on. It is right by the piers where the cruise ships come in so the place gets packed with visitors and tourists. Worth the few minutes wait to get in - really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearwaterJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Beer Break Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our cruise ship made a stop in Juneau and after a day of sightseeing we wandered into this historic saloon. It was so much fun. The entertainer was terrific... Got us all singing and tapping our feet. Lots of atmosphere, happy people and good beer. A must do before getting back on your your ship.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but go for the drinks not the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

It's a pretty cool place with live music and interesting decor, but a bit crowded and the tables are small. We ordered the chowder and smoked salmon dip. The food came really fast which was a plus. The smoked salmon dip was pretty basic, just cream cheese and smoked salmon, could have used a little pizzazz. The chowder was good but not the best. The live piano player was entertaining and it was a fun experience overall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrin, TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Now I can say I've been there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I just couldn't leave Juneau without having a beer at the Red Dog.
The history and atmosphere of this place is fantastic. The piano player is a hoot and will keep you either singing or laughing the entire time you are there. I recommend going if you are in Juneau.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Dog Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing