We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMMMMM”

Gold Creek Salmon Bake
Ranked #11 of 133 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $49
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alaska Travel Adventures:Gold Creek Salmon Bake/ Alaska Salmon Bake-A feast as grand as Alaska itself!The Gold Creek Salmon Bake is an event that’s been grilled to perfection for 35 years. Savor an all-you-can-eat adventure, in a unique outdoor environment you’ll find nowhere else.Arrive at a beautiful setting, in lush rain forest alongside a creek, under translucent domes that protect you from the elements, rain or shine. Savor the aroma of wild salmon, grilling slowly over fires of fragrant alder wood. And settle in for a feast for all your senses!The sumptuous spread has something for everyone. Choose from grilled salmon, Cheechako Chicken, Chilkoot Baked Beans, Tongass Wild-Rice Pilaf, Gold Rush Potatoes and a robust selection of other sides, salads and beverages. Beer and wine are available for purchase, and vegetarians, take note — there’s plenty to tempt your palate! Come back for seconds, or thirds, while a local musician sets a festive mood. And, just when you think you’ve had enough — bring on the blueberry cake for dessert!After dinner, roast marshmallows over a campfire. Stroll through the forest to lovely Salmon Creek waterfall. View the remains of the Wagner Mine and try your hand at panning for gold. Visit the trading post to purchase a souvenir gold pan or other memento.There’s plenty to do, and shuttle buses run regularly, so your visit can last as long as you like. Don’t return until your tastes have been satisfied — and you’re filled with great memories!
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was so fun. After a cold day of sightseeing, we really enjoyed the salmon and hot foods they offered. Magical location in the rainforest under tents! We worth the price. Our 16 year old son must have eaten his weight in salmon! He still talks about the brown sugar sauce on the fresh grilled salmon!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.

K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    69
    41
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great tourist experience- salmon over wood fire outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the Gold Creek Salmon Bake as part of our Best of Juneau tour with our cruise last week. The Salmon Bake was a great way to end a nice day. You step off the bus and the grounds feel like a campsite. There are picnic tables with plastic tablecloths, little huts set up as food stations and a wonderful big grill stoked with a wood fire over which your salmon is being cooked. All you can eat buffet highlights are the clam chowder, Cesar salad with salmon and of course the salmon. The sides are ok- and I enjoyed the spiced apple cider on a chilly fall evening but the salmon with the camp's mystery sweet sauce ( brown sugar as far as I could tell) made the night. Wild caught local fish over a wood fire- yum! School buses take you back to town and your cruise ship. For non-fish fans they also offer a tasty grilled chicken.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal! All you can eat and food was excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived in Juneau and used our Coupon which was a 2 for 1. Great time and the Salmon was tasty as well as the sides they served. The potatoes were fantastic! They had an guitarist that sang Folk/Country that was entertaining. You could walk out back and see a small waterfall and even pan for gold. No, I did not strike it rich but had fun anyway. This was one of the highlights of our 7 day tour and would recommend it. Having a 2 for 1 coupon was a great value!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vision_quest61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Come for the ambiance and convenience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Enjoyed it more than expected. Salmon was okay, sauce was devinely sweet, a nice change from the way it was served on ship. Musician was wonderful, am enjoying his cd as a reminder of the trip. 7 year old enjoyed roasting marshmallows! Do not spend money on the gold pan kit, we didn't find any gold in the prepaxkaged and promised gold mixture we paid good money for. Aaw aalmon in the creek. Good for those with a small amount of milited ability, walk surfaces are thick gravel. A nice oasis in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mythoughts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
243 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Almost as good as I remembered it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

28 years ago my mother and I did this salmon bake. All I remember is that it was in the woods and the sauce on the fish was great (I do like sweet). This time in Juneau I took my husband. We had 2-4-1 tickest (Tour Saver book) so for us the price was right. I think it has changed over all those years, but the salmon still tasted great. We liked the cole slaw and beans (reminded me of Bush's with cut up hot dogs), but the blueberry cake wasn't that great. Enjoyed finishing the meal with some toasted marshmallows. This salmon bake was much better than the one we didn in Fairbanks. We did have to wait for more salmon to be cooked, as it wasn't crowded.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Creek Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing