We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helicopter Ride and Dog Sledding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temsco Helicopter Tours

Temsco Helicopter Tours
Ranked #12 of 85 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Andover, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Helicopter Ride and Dog Sledding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this through our Holland America Cruise. We had difficulty connecting with the tour after disembarking from our boat. If we would have been even 2 minutes later we would have missed our bus to the helicopters. I think the staff at Temsco need to be more organized at the dock. However when we got to the heliport they grouped us and then got the glacier boots passed out. The helicopter ride was short and fun, the pilot was informative. Once up on the Mendenhall Glacier we visited a dog sledding camp with 300 dogs. This was well organized and the young people were very nice and informative. Our dog sled musher was Elliott, he was training a young team for the Iditarod Race. He was very personable and interesting. I recommend this as a good first adventure. However next time we will be looking for something more out of the box and into the wild.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dougandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    23
    10
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mendenhall Glacier landing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went on the landing tour on July 9th. Overall had an awesome experience as far as landing on the glacier, but not so satisfied with the Tempsco service.

The helicopters are pretty old. The one we were in was leaking water through the doors as we were flying and got my camera wet!! The pilot was not interactive at all. We had our headset on, but during the 40minute flight to and from the glacier there was no narration of the history of the place or the glacier etc. The person who picked us from the airport (Rohan) was great. He ended up giving us a lot more information on the place than the pilot and the glacier staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mendenhall Glacier Helicopter Ride & Dog Sledding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the thing to do if you can do only one thing in Juneau. It is also something that will be cancelled if the weather is not cooperating. But the views on the ride up and down are OMG, unbelievable. Then the dog sledding in this most picturesque beautiful glacier is a once in a lifetime bucket list thing to do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hersheybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cancelled Tour, prompt refund”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Unfortunately our tour was cancelled due to rain. Temsco did a good job communicating and gave me a prompt 100% refund.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ADG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If only it last longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took this shore excursion from the cruise line. It was amazingly fun. The helicopter flight was great. We saw the amazing pool of glaciers and the mountains. But the most unforgettable thing is the dog sledding. There were 8 dogs pulling the 4 of us, including the dog sled guide. My mom, son and me are all dogs lover. We patted and hugs all the dogs and they were all barking excitedly waiting to run. The noise was chaos yet vibrating FUN. First I thought the sled must be dangerous, but it was a very safe and easy sport. Both my 73 years old mom and 5 years old son stood behind for the sled. We were all having lots of fun. Our guide was a very kind and friendly female. She introduced the dogs one by one to us before we go. During the end of the sled, two of the dogs were fighting and our guide had to stripped one of the dog and strapped it beside the front seat, which my mom were seating. The dog was perhaps a bit anxious and keep on peeing at the seat, my mom kept asking it to stop doing so. It was really funny and unforgettable. At the end, we were rushed to pat the puppies, which was so adorable, and ushered back to line up to be picked up by the helicopter. Perhaps they should consider building a cafe and souvenirs shop for devoted dogs lover to stay a bit longer and have a cuppa up there in the glacier?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank byusmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temsco Helicopter Tours also viewed

 

Been to Temsco Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing