We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good value for your dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

there is no airport shuttle, and the front desk isnt open 24/7. for the price i couldve stayed at another hotel for 3 days, for the price of the 7 hours i almost slept in a bed here.
for over $200 per night, there shouldve been breakfast in bed, plus other amenities.

Room Tip: do your homework, there are plenty of places in juneau that are better to stay at than here. most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank old_weird_hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your experience our Hotel, we appreciate your willingness to share this information with us in order to help us better serve our guests.

Although our Front Desk is only open from 6am to 12am we do have security onsite the hours our Front Desk is not open. We find that having a Security Guard on site at night is much more secure for our guest then a Front Desk Agent. Regarding the price, we keep a close eye on our competiters it is important that our rates are competitive. Every hotel in Juneau is priced very closely to our prices, some even higher.

I apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations, and hope you may give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,

Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

To start the hotel is clean, new, and boasts a kitchen. I was traveling for business and the kitchen was nice. The only other hotel that has a kitchen in Juneau, that I know of, is the extended stay and I always get double charged "by mistake" (funny how that mistake only happens when I am there on business using my corporate card...). But for business travelers the hotel lacks everything else I look for. There is no hbo which seems weird considering every other flea bag motel offers it, and worse there is no movie selection. This is frustrating on business travel because there is little else to do in this town.

For tourists, the location is terrible so don't even bother unless you have a rental car.

Business travelers and tourists,
Grandmas Feather Bed sounds like a b and b but it's great. I think it's part of a best western franchise. Wonderful complimentary breakfast, close to a couple restaurants and bars, and good service. Aspen was the 2nd best hotel in Juneau, but that's not saying much.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is feedback like yours that allows to improve our business. I am glad you found the hotel clean and enjoyed the kitchen. Although we do not have HBO or another movie channel, we do have movies available at the front desk for our guest to watch. We do our best to keep up to date on the latest movies of all varieties by purchasing now movies on a monthly basis.

Again I apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations, and hope you may give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Thank You,

Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A great place to stay in Juneau! The rooms are nice and spacious, which is not the case in many hotels in this area. The beds are very comfortable (both the mattresses and the bedding), which makes for a great night sleep. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Having stayed in four other hotels in Juneau, the Aspen Suites is my top choice by far!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank sitkasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for choosing Aspen Suites Hotel, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay!! I also wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is great hearing positive feedback from our customers. Thank you for your business we truly appreciate it!! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Juneau.

Thank you,

Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent four nights here in January (!) 2012, and enjoyed every second of it. The room was excellent (great bed) and the kitchenette allowed us to save a lot of money we would have spent on restaurants. We used the fitness room, which is very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful and always had complimentary hot coffee ready for us. The hotel is three blocks from the bus stop at Nugget Mall, so we used the bus to get downtown cheap and efficiently, and fairly safely in snowy weather.

The only drawback, which costs them one star, is that they don't have a shuttle bus for the airport or ferry. We rented a car, but had to pay an additional fee of $25 to Budget to leave it at the ferry. But we had no other option since our departure was at 7 am, and you can't get to the ferry terminal on the city bus (dumb city planning!). On our second time through Juneau we stayed at a Best Western hotel that did have a shuttle bus because of this early ferry departure problem, but we didn't like the hotel as well as Aspen Suites.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor is almost always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trekkin_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate getting feedback from all our customers. Thank you for choosing Aspen Suites Hotel, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, although I can understand why having a shuttle would have been a convenience for you. I hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,

Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The beds at the Aspen Suites are AMAZING!! The mattress, sheets, pillows, etc. I actually looked to see the brand of the mattress and the sheets, so I might buy my own. Best sleep I've ever had on vacation! The hotel staff was very accommodating and helped us call cabs, get directions, recommended restaurants, etc. The kitchenette in each room is definitely a nice touch. I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oppositeofdusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you so much much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate getting feedback from all our customers. Thank you for choosing Aspen Suites Hotel, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay!! If you would like more information on any of our amenities don't hesitate to call me and I can give you any information you may need. Again, thank you for choosing Aspen Suites and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Juneau.

Thank you,

Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

When I came to work in Hoonah, my company booked my room here as I had to stay the night before catching the ferry the next day. What a wonderful place! I have grown to appreciate this hotel even more since I recently returned to Juneau for grocery shopping, I really wanted to stay here as I knew what to expect but my budget was a little tight and thought I'd save the $30/night and stayed at the Extended Stay. Big mistake (WHAT A DUMP see my review). I did a lot of shopping around to find a reasonably priced hotel in Juneau. You're not going to find a cheap room in Juneau and if you do, there's a reason for it. In my search on Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire this hotel never came up so if you are not aware it's here, you'll miss it. Aspen manager you need to get connected with these companies, I would highly recommend it as these are the first places people go when looking for a hotel. As of now you are a best kept secret but I think more people need to be made aware of your wonderful hotel.

Aspen Suites is WONDERFUL! The rooms were clean and the staff are very professional and helpful. I'm not sure what the person was talking about who gave this hotel a score of 1 and said the staff were not helpful. Albert was the staff member on evening shift. He worked very hard to ensure my stay was pleasant. He helped me load and lug $500 worth of groceries up to my room on the 3rd floor. Yes, they have an elevator and a luggage cart but it was still a lot of work and he did it with a great attitude and spirit of service. Aspen Suites you have a very fine young man working for you. I found the morning staff to be equally as kind and helpful.

The rooms were very clean, beds comfy and it felt like home. The refrigerators are decent size and can hold a lot if you come to Juneau to shop. At this time (not sure what they are in the high season) rates are $119/night reg price, $109 AAA, and $99 if you're an AK resident. I will not make the same mistake again when I come to Juneau. This hotel is worth EVERY PENNY. It really is the most reasonable, nicest place to stay in Juneau. I will definitely be back on my next shopping trip and so regret not staying here on this last trip.

Room Tip: Aspen Suites is the nicest, best deal you will find in Juneau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merimedicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! I want to thank you for your business, we really do appreciate it!! We are doing our doing our best to make sure the word gets out about our property and we are very glad you found us!! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Juneau.
Thank you,
Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. It is close to the airport and close to the Mendenhall Glacier. The room was very nice, very large and comfortable. It was a little bit of a drive to the downtown, but not bad. Would recommend hotel (however, there is NOT a good view).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenGM, General Manager at Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! I want to thank you for your business, we really do appreciate it!! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Juneau.
Thank you,
Stephanie Weitman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
7.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
6.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#4 of 17 in Juneau
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Juneau
0.9 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel

Address: 8400 Airport Blvd, Juneau, AK 99801-8064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Juneau
Price Range: $112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Suites Hotel in Juneau is in the heart of one of the most scenic state capitals in the nation. Close to the Juneau Airport and Alaska Marine Ferry Dock, Aspen Suites Hotel Juneau is also just minutes from the awe-inspiring Mendenhall Glacier. Each guest suite offers:•A tasteful décor•One or two queen beds•Complimentary WiFi•Flat screen television•And a fully equipped kitchen for your convenience. We also offer a business center for corporate guests.Aspen Suites Hotel in Juneau is a perfect choice for business or leisure travel. We offer reasonable rates, a great location and convenient amenities, plus space to spread out and enjoy.The newest value-added business class hotel in Juneau, the clean contemporary design and soothing palette of lobby colors at Aspen Suites Hotel make you feel right at home.Guestrooms are generously sized kitchen suites, larger and wider than standard hotel rooms. Whether you stay a few days or for a few months our professional and caring staff is at your service, ensuring your visit is an unforgettable one.Aspen Suites Hotel Juneau is near the Juneau Airport and the Alaska Marine Highway System Ferry Terminal, an ideal home base to explore Juneau, where the Alaska gold rush began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juneau Aspen Hotel Juneau
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing