We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Glacier Trip”

Coastal Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Juneau Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk
More Info
$524.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Helicopter Tour and Dogsledding Experience
Ranked #22 of 80 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Helicopter Charter Service based in unique Juneau, Alaska. During the summers we devote a portion of our fleet of helicopters to running tours for visitors coming off of the many cruise ships that pass through our town, or visiting family and friends on an extended holiday. We offer a variety of tour experiences, all accessing parts of the scenic Juneau area via helicopter, to help give visitors the best memories of their time in Alaska. Our staff are locally hired, and trained to insure the most authentic vacation possible. Majestic mountain peaks and plunging crevasses will seem to be at your fingertips when you come with Coastal Helicopters Inc. on the adventure of a lifetime! With our vast reservoir of experience flying in Alaska, you're in for an unforgettable flight as our pilots take you on one of our specially designed tours. From racing across the face of the Taku Glacier in an Alaskan Airboat, to speeding over the glacier on your own dogsled, to simply basking in the awe inspiring vistas of the glacier with our Icefield Tours, there's a tour for everyone! All ages and conditions welcome! We are a handicap friendly company, outfit with lifts for ease of loading. Allow us to be your pathway to adventure when planning your Alaskan experience!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although pricey, it was definitely worth the cost. Heath was our pilot and did an amazing job of narrating the tour, showing us around the glacier, and not killing us. There were 6 of us in the helicopter plus Heath, and we had about a 20 minute flight to Herbert Glacier. The views of the water, the mountains, and the glacier were amazing on the flight there. Once we landed, we had about 30 minutes on the glacier to take pictures, examine the crevices, and even drink ice cold glacier water! We were even able to see a few mountain goats just kicking it on the side of the hill. Overall it was a great trip and I would highly recommend anyone traveling to Juneau to visit Herbert Glacier via Coastal!

Thank bryan_trapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful comments!

I’m glad that Heath was able to meet all your expectations, especially your final one. I’m happy to hear that you had such a great time on the glacier, and even got to get a drink of glacier water, the goats are also a definite plus. Thanks for letting everyone know how your trip went!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 490 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a pricey excursion but we thoroughly enjoyed the flight. Coastal provided spiked boots and we were all well-dressed for the adventure. We loved the flight and got lots of great photos and saw amazing sights. Our only disappointments was that we had maybe 5 minutes actually on the glacier. My husband and I were in the helicopter with the pilot, another couple from our ship and a single woman. They assigned seating so you couldn't control where you were for good photo taking. We got luck that he had a side window view. We only saw Mendanhall Glacier from the distance, but flew for miles over Herbert Glacier. It was quite amazing.

When we landed and got unloaded we took just a couple photos and started walking just feet from the helicopter when fog started to roll in and the pilot sort of spooked us all back into the copter. We truly only had maybe 5 minutes on the glacier. We flew directly back to the helipad. The pilot acted like we normally would have had more time on the glacier if the weather had cooperated but when we landed, they had a load of passengers for the next tour lined up waiting fo take our seats and took right off.

It was wonderful what we got to see, but seemed abruptly shortened. I'm still glad we did it because we would never have understood the enormity of these glaciers and their path if we hadn't done this.

2  Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us!

I’m happy to hear that you had such a wonderful flight! The seating in each aircraft is based on the weight and balance calculations for each individual group, but it’s always nice when it works out that each group gets a window. Safety is the priority for each group, so thanks for your understanding regarding the fog moving in, and thanks for sharing your comments!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I took their Icefield Excursion and had an amazing time. We were promptly picked up from our cruise ship dock and taken to Juneau Airport, where they we get on the helicopter. After about ~20 mins on the helicopter, you land on Herbert glacier. Walking on the glacier was a surreal experience.
Overall, the guys at Coastal helicopters were very professional. We highly recommend this tour if you visit Juneau.

1  Thank karsan_cbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation!

I’m happy to hear that everything went as planned for you, and that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for letting everyone know how your experience went.

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife, daughter, and her extended family (age range from 4 years to 73 years) used Coastal Helicopters to land a glacier and go on a dog sled tour. The service was excellent. They let my daughter sit in the front, and she was absolutely delighted. Staff was friendly, helpful, and everyone got great pictures. Of course, it's expensive but this is comparably priced with other helicopter tours. Highly recommended.

1  Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review!

The dog sled tour is a great family experience and it’s great that your daughter had such a wonderful time on the flight and the dog sled! It is certainly a high end tour, and I’m glad that you had a good time with our entire staff. Thanks for the feedback!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a fantastic trip. It was just my husband and I in the helicopter with the pilot. The weather was amazing and the pilot made sure we had a perfect flight and landing on the glacier. The views were incredible and seeing through the floor in the front seat of the chopper was a highlight of the experience. We landed perfectly near a crack in the glacier not far from a waterfall coming down the mountain on the side of Herbert Glacier. The pilot guided us on where to walk and we spent over an hour on the glacier hiking. It was amazing!

The only slight negative was they had the tour time wrong when we got there, they had us scheduled for an hour later than what we had booked but they made up for it with the extra time on the glacier and the fantastic service.

1  Thank mordorring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us know how we did!

All our helicopter flights are great, but it’s certainly a treat when it winds up being a completely private tour with just you and the pilot going out for your experience, and I’m glad to hear that that was the case for you! It definitely sounds like your pilot picked one of our best spots for your landing so that you could take in the full scope of your glacier experience. I do apologize for the timing mix up, but I’m pleased that we were able to resolve it. Thanks for sharing your trip with everyone on Tripadvisor!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coastal Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing