We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icefield Excursion on Herbert Glacier”

Coastal Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Juneau Helicopter Tour and Guided Icefield Walk
Ranked #21 of 80 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Helicopter Charter Service based in unique Juneau, Alaska. During the summers we devote a portion of our fleet of helicopters to running tours for visitors coming off of the many cruise ships that pass through our town, or visiting family and friends on an extended holiday. We offer a variety of tour experiences, all accessing parts of the scenic Juneau area via helicopter, to help give visitors the best memories of their time in Alaska. Our staff are locally hired, and trained to insure the most authentic vacation possible. Majestic mountain peaks and plunging crevasses will seem to be at your fingertips when you come with Coastal Helicopters Inc. on the adventure of a lifetime! With our vast reservoir of experience flying in Alaska, you're in for an unforgettable flight as our pilots take you on one of our specially designed tours. From racing across the face of the Taku Glacier in an Alaskan Airboat, to speeding over the glacier on your own dogsled, to simply basking in the awe inspiring vistas of the glacier with our Icefield Tours, there's a tour for everyone! All ages and conditions welcome! We are a handicap friendly company, outfit with lifts for ease of loading. Allow us to be your pathway to adventure when planning your Alaskan experience!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I took their Icefield Excursion and had an amazing time. We were promptly picked up from our cruise ship dock and taken to Juneau Airport, where they we get on the helicopter. After about ~20 mins on the helicopter, you land on Herbert glacier. Walking on the glacier was a surreal experience.
Overall, the guys at Coastal helicopters were very professional. We highly recommend this tour if you visit Juneau.

1  Thank karsan_cbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation!

I’m happy to hear that everything went as planned for you, and that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for letting everyone know how your experience went.

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"herbert glacier"
in 139 reviews
"dog sledding"
in 88 reviews
"helicopter ride"
in 77 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 58 reviews
"pilot guide"
in 8 reviews
"glacier walk"
in 21 reviews
"safety video"
in 14 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 49 reviews
"landing spot"
in 5 reviews
"special boots"
in 10 reviews
"glacier water"
in 22 reviews
"through viator"
in 6 reviews
"drank water"
in 6 reviews
"walk around"
in 20 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 27 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 26 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 17 reviews
Filter

411 - 415 of 510 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife, daughter, and her extended family (age range from 4 years to 73 years) used Coastal Helicopters to land a glacier and go on a dog sled tour. The service was excellent. They let my daughter sit in the front, and she was absolutely delighted. Staff was friendly, helpful, and everyone got great pictures. Of course, it's expensive but this is comparably priced with other helicopter tours. Highly recommended.

1  Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review!

The dog sled tour is a great family experience and it’s great that your daughter had such a wonderful time on the flight and the dog sled! It is certainly a high end tour, and I’m glad that you had a good time with our entire staff. Thanks for the feedback!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a fantastic trip. It was just my husband and I in the helicopter with the pilot. The weather was amazing and the pilot made sure we had a perfect flight and landing on the glacier. The views were incredible and seeing through the floor in the front seat of the chopper was a highlight of the experience. We landed perfectly near a crack in the glacier not far from a waterfall coming down the mountain on the side of Herbert Glacier. The pilot guided us on where to walk and we spent over an hour on the glacier hiking. It was amazing!

The only slight negative was they had the tour time wrong when we got there, they had us scheduled for an hour later than what we had booked but they made up for it with the extra time on the glacier and the fantastic service.

1  Thank mordorring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us know how we did!

All our helicopter flights are great, but it’s certainly a treat when it winds up being a completely private tour with just you and the pilot going out for your experience, and I’m glad to hear that that was the case for you! It definitely sounds like your pilot picked one of our best spots for your landing so that you could take in the full scope of your glacier experience. I do apologize for the timing mix up, but I’m pleased that we were able to resolve it. Thanks for sharing your trip with everyone on Tripadvisor!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a thrill to see the glaciers from above and to actually walk on one. Our ride was excellent and the guide great. We traveled with a family with 2 young girls and they added to the fun, with their enthusiasm and wonder. Landing on the glacier was so fun and we had plenty of time to actually explore the surface and look into crevices and pick up the ice and stones. The trip from and to the cruise added to the value with drivers who added information and comments. All in all, it was one of the best excursions of the trip and I would recommend it to anyone from a cruise ship. I think the one that included the dog sled component would be excellent too.

1  Thank Susan&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with all of us!

Having kids along for the ride, even if they’re not your own, brings a great energy to the trip, and it’s awesome to hear that you had so much fun with the other passengers! All our staff really enjoy the work we do, but our driver’s take extra pride in the experience they provide while bringing you out and back from the cruiseships, I’ll be sure to pass along your kind words. Thanks again for sharing your impressions!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great weather made this trip GREAT! The entire staff is very friendly and the helicopter/pilot were top-rate. The glacier landing was smooth and we had plenty of time to walk around, take pictures and have our picture taken. We would HIGHLY recommend taking this tour...there's others out there, but the friendly helpful crew/staff are great!

1  Thank MarriedCoupleForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHelicopters, Manager at Coastal Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

We all thoroughly enjoy our work, and the nice weather always makes it that much better, it’s great that you had such a wonderful day! I’ll be sure to pass along your comments to our staff, thanks for letting us know how we did!

Derrick Grimes
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coastal Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing