We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Way to see Auke Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen Marine Tours

Allen Marine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watching , salmon diiner
Longmont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way to see Auke Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Absolutely loved our whale watching and wildlife quest with Allen Marine Tours. I found this company online prior to our Alaskan Cruise and knew I wanted to tour with them but I think the only way you can book a trip is through the cruise ships. Well worth the $$ the employees were very friendly and knowledgeable. Who know that bald eagles are so stubborn there leading cause of death is to drown? I liked having the third level to get up above the whales. Great Trip. Definitely would go again. Oh we saw the Mendenhall Glacier with this tour too, which was meh. Didn't have enough time to get to the falls everyone had raved about. I

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1_curly_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    49
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton
2 reviews
“Just simply wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this tour through our cruise boat and combined it with the Mendenhall Glacier, so I'm not sure what the cost of this excursion alone would be. That being said, the whale watching tour was amazing. We saw 11-12 different hump back whales and got some amazing photos. We saw a baby whale playing in the water, surrounded by two adults. The two adults jumped (breached) almost simultaneously, which was a sight to be seen! Have your cameras ready at all time.

Besides the whales, the scenery was beautiful, the captain was very polite and knowledgable and enjoyed interacting with his guests. There was a naturalist on board, who was also very knowledgable.

You are able to go outside and on top of the boat to see the whales (so dress in layers) or you can stay inside depending on the elements. He spins the boat around slowly, so any side is a good side to be on and it's very easy to move around. They provide binoculars, but if you have a pair of your own that you're comfortable with, I would recommend bringing those instead. Our tour lasted 2 hours in length. We say some seals as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Whale Watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The crew was fantastic and very helpful with information about the whales. They even knew the whales names. I would recommend this whale watching tour to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohsopretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real highlight of our Alaskan Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This had to be my favorite excursion of our recent Princess cruise. The trip started with a trip to the Mendenhall Glacier and I thought the day couldn't get any better. I was wrong. After a motor coach trip to the dock, we boarded the boat for our whale watching experience. Since it was drizzly and cool, I was glad to see the large, roomy indoor seating on two levels with large windows all around. They provided us with binoculars and offered us free hot chocolate or coffee. After a short ride, we were advised that there was a pod of humpbacks ahead and everyone rushed outside to view. There was a lot of room on the 2nd level, but for the best views, there was even a third open level. The whales "performed for us" for quite some time and everyone had a chance to get to the rail for pictures or just to see them up close.
Then an orca was spotted and the captain repositioned the boat. It was interesting to listen to the crew members as they were as excited to spot the orcas as the passengers. It had been awhile since any had been spotted.
Finally, the captain said we needed to head to the lodge for our salmon bake, so everyone headed back inside the boat to share pictures and listen to the naturalists on board discuss what we had witnessed. The meal at the beautiful Orca Point Lodge was prepared and waiting for us. You had a choice of either salmon or chicken and sides. Tea or lemonade was included, but there was also a cash bar with wine and beer available. There was a nice gift shop and very clean restrooms. Outside there was a viewing room where you could touch some of the small wildlife from the area waters with a naturalist to explain what you were viewing/touching.
The crew was friendly and knowledgeable. The whole experience was just wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bucket List Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excursion purchased as part of Holland America Cruise. Boat was comfortable and the crew was excellent. They kept us well informed of what to watch for and got as excited as we did when finding the whales. They had binoculars for everyone to use on the boat. You had a choice to stay inside the boat or stand on the decks (bring a jacket). There were drinks available to purchase. Whales are guaranteed and boy did we get a show! We watched 8-9 whales "bubble feed" for about an hour. The boat driver kept the boat turning so we could see every angle and get as close as possible. We got some great pictures. We also saw some seals sunbathing on a buoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shawn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allen Marine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing