We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog sledding on Mendenhall Glacier”

Alaska Icefield Expeditions
Ranked #19 of 81 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for glacier dogsledding. This is a once in a lifetime adventure and you won't want to miss it. Accessible only by helicopter you will fly with TEMSCO Helicopters over some of the most amazing country in the world. Your pilot will land at dog camp where Alaska Icefield Expeditions will take you out dogsledding on the glacier. We have two locations. Join us on the Mendenhall Glacier in Juneau and the Denver Glacier outside of Skagway. Excursions include a combined 25-30 minutes of scenic flight time on the way to and from our glacier dog camps. Once in camp, you'll experience the musher way of life and meet the true athletes, the dogs, of Alaska's official state sport. Following introductions and instruction, You will be out mushing on the glacier beneath the awe inspiring backdrop of the Juneau Ice Field.
woonona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog sledding on Mendenhall Glacier”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I had booked this excursion after a very strong recommendation from our son and daughter in law, who had done this in June, 2012.. It was the highlight of our tour, up,to that point. We have since seen and done more great tours, however, this one will remain at the top of our list for a long time. We had an absolutely perfect day, leaving Juneau mid morning on June 12 and the view from the helicopter was truly mind blowing. We landed at the camp, and were met by our guide Dustin, who was was wearing short sleeves! We had been told to dress warmly, but we were very overdressed for this day. We were given plenty of time to pat the dogs, who were all very anxious to get going! The sledding was fantastic, and plenty of photo opportunities. This trip was well worth the price, and we wouldn't have missed it for the world!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, Owner at Alaska Icefield Expeditions, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
And what a stretch of weather it was! Thank you for joining us and for taking the time to share your review. It looks like you and your Husband had a wonderful trip; this past June was some of the most spectacular weather any of us can remember. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for visiting Alaska this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An awesome experience and great service!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I wanted to do this excursion which we found on the Cruise line list of excursions in Juneau. However, the cost was quite high and they later in the day you went, the more they wanted to charge. I phoned Alaska Icefield Expeditions directly and they gave me great information. They rate was slightly less than the cruise ship charged no matter what time of day we went. Their instructions for locating their pick up van was great and every part of our journey was well managed with very friendly and professional crew. We were so fortunate that the day of our excursion had amazing weather, very sunny and warm...65 degrees f on the glacier. Our helicopter ride was so fun and the views were spectacular. It was a very smooth ride. It's very difficult to see the dog camp/kennel from the air since they are required to have all of their tents and stuff blend in with the scenery which means white like the snow. Once we landed we were given a brief lesson on how to drive the sled if we wanted to by standing up in the back. They we could take turns riding or driving. The professional "musher" stands on the sled in front of ours, closest to the dogs. We had 12 dogs pulling us and we were traveling about 7-8 miles per hour...not scarry at all. After our ride we got a chance to hold a few of the puppies who were so adorable! They we were back on our helicopter and back to the heliport. I know this is an expensive excursion, but we felt it was well worth it and a "once in a lifetime" opportunity. If you can afford it, I'd highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, Owner at Alaska Icefield Expeditions, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Fantastic Helen, thank you for the review, we are happy to hear that you were able to join us on one of the many terrific dog sledding days here in Southeast Alaska this summer.

We operate within the Tongass National Forest in the Juneau Ranger District under a Special Uses Permit. The permit mandates that all of our structures limit visual impacts, thus the white. The camp operates a Leave no Trace philosophy with the entire camp torn down and set up every spring and fall with operational waste removed responsibly daily.

Thanks again Helen, reviews like your are incredibly important for potential travelers in planning their journeys. Thank you for facilitating the trip advisor mission.

AIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Day!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My sister, cousin & I did this excursion while sailing on the Disney Wonder. Our port adventures rep on the ship recommended we book an afternoon time because this is the most-cancelled excursion they offer and there is often fog and/or severe weather that prohibits the trips in the morning. So we booked a 12:30 departure. When we arrived in Juneau at 6am the weather was clear & pretty but it quickly fogged up and we couldn't even see the mountains. Later, we heard that all the morning expeditions were cancelled.

I'm a frequent airline flyer, but I had never been in a helicopter before - definitely feels like extreme flying, though our pilot was awesome and assured us that everything we were feeling was totally normal. The scenery up to the glacier was unparalleled. Definitely among the most beautiful I'd ever scene. I felt like we were in a Discovery Channel documentary, ha!

As we flew up to the glacier, we could see the dog camp (240+ dogs!) and the dogs seemed so excited that we were coming. Upon landing on the glacier, we were met by a guide who introduced us to our musher James. He had run this year's Iditarod with the team he had on the glacier & took time to introduce us to his sweet dogs. We were fortunate to 'mush' with such elite athletes! It was amazing to see the dogs' different personalities.

The scenery was breathtaking - untouched nature all around you! To see that in person is just life-changing. The staff was awesome about giving us lots of time to take pictures. We each got an opportunity to stand up in back of the sled & help brake.

All too soon, it was time to head back to base. The helicopter ride back was just as gorgeous - almost indescribable. At one point, we saw eight bald eagles flying together. Really impressive. We cannot recommend this tour enough! I think we paid under $600 pp, and it was worth it.

Logistics: bathrooms are at the airfield; they give you glacier boots; there is a storage locker where you can leave your bag - no bags allowed on the helicopter; they will take a pic of you running with the dogs - bring cash ($20 I think) to buy the pic - you will want it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tn3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, Owner at Alaska Icefield Expeditions, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review, your logistics section was much appreciated.

Great to see that you and your Sister and Cousin made it following the morning cancelations. We encourage folks to check in the day of your tour to check on your departure status.

Thanks again TN3163, take care,

AIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best tour of our 7 day cruise to Alaska. Our 9 & 11 year old daughters loved it!
Dogs were super friendly and you can pet them if you like.
The sled ride was incredible and my girls took turns being the "mushers".
The view from the helicopter was spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferragudo, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“loved Alaska”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a super cruise from S Francisco to Alaska, felt so close to nature and it was great to experience a full day of light and see Russia in a distance, was being on top of the world like the song !
The glaciers are so special, the walking nature tours, the bears, the tasty salmon and the small villages, imagine how they live away from the world in the winter....the crab is the best but its fishing the most dangerous.
Loved truely this experience and would return and remomend. The pubs are historical and remender the old stories of the miners coming to town to be served and watching the dancing girls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VilaCasteloResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Icefield Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Icefield Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing