We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!”
Review of Era Helicopters

Era Helicopters
Ranked #13 of 81 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a View!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a spectacular view! We landed on the largest Alaskan Glacier, walked around, and tour more of that and other glaciers. One of the spectacular ways to view the Glaciers is from the air. Our pilot, Wayne, was very informative and an all-around good guy. Definitely recommend a helicopter tour, it's well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TnDucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    16
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Helicopter tour and landing on Glacier. Don't Miss”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The pilot was knowledgeable and fun. It was a beautiful day we were lucky. I would do it again in a heartbeat. This is the only way to see the mountains the glaciers and the landscape. It was an experience of a lifetime. I had been on Helicopter tours before this company offers a very personal trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cflesher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you love a unique adventure this is the one for you. It is spendy but worth every single dollar.
We truely came away with a better understanding of the mushers way of life and the magnificant accomplishments of their dogs. To actually mush your own sled on a glacier for 5 miles was amazing, it was the top excursion of our 18 day Alaska trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You only live once”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fantastic trip over the mountains, Glaciers and Juneau Ice Field topped off with dog sledding and mushing puppies- how could you ask for anything more! We did the dog sledding World Experience which is more expensive but you get more time sledding/ and with the dogs. It was cold and raining when we went but we didn't care.... we enjoyed every minute of it. Everone at the camp was super nice, welcoming and friendly. I don't remember everyones names but Alex was with us most and he was great!. our mushing guide was last name Mackey- forgot his first name (sorry). he was awsome, extremely cute and fascinating! We spent a lot of money on this trip but it will be remembered for the rest of our lives, we will never forget it! Thankyou so much to everyone involved- and thank you Nick for flying us back safely when the clouds dropped! Note- make sure you wear boots (even though they give you boot covers) thick jacket, gloves and hat becouse it is much colder up there. Also you will need sunglasses even if the sun is not shining becouse it is bright. Bring wet gear when it is raining or you'll be cold. We bought frog togs but left them becouse you cannot bring a bag on the helecopter and got a little wet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank britwit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't give up if you're cancelled on a different helicopter excursion”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were actually scheduled to take a helicopter flight to the Mendenhall Glacier through our cruise ship, but it was cancelled due to foggy conditions. We happened upon a booth for Era on the port, and the gentleman explained that they had a license to fly to glaciers to land on a different location -- where the flying conditions were safe, unlike the other direction towards Mendenhall. Every helicopter company have licenses to fly to only certain locations, so when some flights are deemed unsafe, others are still perfectly viable! They loaned us keflar boots (ugly, but functional) so we could keep our traction on the ice, and we had to wear life preservers since we were flying over water. The day was overcast, but we were excited that we would still be able to walk on a glacier. The flight was smooth and our pilot was professional and experienced. The scenery was breathtaking from the helicopter. We flew over three different glaciers, and landed on one that had glaciel streams and ice pools. It's amazing how you can hear the water rushing under the glacier! Words can hardly describe this once in a lifetime experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Era Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing