We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juneau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Juneau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a bit of trouble finding the B&B, the flag they told us to look for was missing, however once you find it down a fairly long driveway you will be welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room and bath was very comfortable. It was handy to use the laundry facilities. The house is right on lovely Auke lake. Jessica made muffins both mornings we were there that were scrumptious, also there were many healthy choices to chose from. I highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay if you have a car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illinilass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friends and I just returned from an Alaskan adventure. We stayed at Auke Lake B&B for two nights and highly recommend the home. Jessica greeted us warmly and helped us with our baggage. She gave us helpful information about the area, places of interest, places to eat, suggested ways of travel etc.
And then, we were in the most beautifully appointed room with stunning views from all picture windows! This home is a must stay if you are visiting Juneau. It is quiet, clean and the hosts make you feel comfortable. Breakfast with fellow guests was not just a relaxing start but also an opportunity to mingle and learn about other locations and places of interest.
We will definitely visit again if in Juneau.
Frances

Room Tip: We (3) stayed in the Serengeti room which had a luxurious feel to it with good quality linen, a stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I own hotels and I must say The Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay. It's a home away from Home. The staff are amazing, food is great, and the owners are fabulous. Jessica and Marcus are great hosts and you are made to feel so welcome. The setting is so relaxing you feel miles away from everything. Take it from an experienced owner of hotels. Stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in late July of 2013. We stayed in the Timberline Suite.

Jessica was our host.

The location is very easy to get to. Once we arrived, we were greeted by Jessica. She showed us around the property. She made us feel very comfortable. The room was very clean, and looked exactly as all the pictures. Except for the fact that you are in Alaska, so the pictures cannot come close to experiance. We were able to use the Jacuzzi, as well as the paddle boat on the lake. The breakfast was very fresh, and was something we both looked forward to. The room had water, soda, and snacks available. We were able to use the washer and dryer.

We truly enjoyed our stay as well as all of the aspects of the B&B. Jessica made our stay very enjoyable. If there was any issue that we had, such as towels, or questions, she immediately tried to help out in what ever way she could.

We are very glad we were able to find this location, and will be traveling back to visit (hopefully) very soon.

Room Tip: Great view of the lake from the Timberline Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The house is set on a small lake and the rooms are spacious and clean, with stunning views. It's best to have a car so you can get downtown, but you likely need one anyway to get to other Juneau sites (including trails), so that is not an issue. The bed was large and about the most comfortable one I have had in a B & B/hotel. Honey Bee is charming and interesting (Dale was not around) and the caretakers were gracious and friendly. It's in a residential neighborhood, so very quiet; and they have kayaks and a canoe guests can use on the lake - I was sorry we were not there long enough to do that.
Three minor complaints. First, though the rooms have a fridge and cupboards, there are no dishes or glasses or corkscrew, etc., so bringing in one's own supplies (e.g., wine, breakfast for early departure) requires that one bring in the tools one needs as well. Second, the beds need reading lamps; the current lighting is overhead only. And third, the night we stayed there, one of the other guests had a small party on the deck, which included friends who were not guests. The caretaker shut the party down at 9, but that is the semi-official start of "quiet time" posted on the web site rules, and I was disappointed as I felt I could not use the hot tub or the deck. I've never stayed at a B & B that allowed guests to throw a party - even a somewhat quiet one - and would hope that Dale and Honey Bee would impose a "guests only" rule on the use of the facilities.
Do ignore other poster's complaints about the animals - yes, there are bear skins and various animal heads on the wall that you see as you head down the stairs - but they appeared to be expertly done, and that décor seems to be required for Alaska; we saw it everywhere. And I, not a dog person, thought the pets were well-behaved and they were certainly quiet, and not in the guest rooms ever.

Room Tip: Those with a full view of the lake. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Planning a trip to Juneau is difficult because the hotels are usually cruise ships. Auke Lake B&B was recommended to us by friends, it has been and amazing place to stay from the wonderful breakfast in the morning to the comfortable bedding and good quality sheets and towels. Plenty of hot water free Internet and even a grill if you want to do so salmon or halibut. Enjoy the hot tub and the amazing views on the morning. ;) Jessica was an amazing host and her waffles are the best

Thanks again for an amazing stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy-2013-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early August, 2013. To begin with, there was regular contact with Jessica, the innkeeper. She confirmed our arrival time, made sure everything was ready for us and even kept the weather gorgeous for us. Thanks! This place is fabulous! Every room is beautiful with your own fridge, reading/relaxing area, free laundry down the hall, outside hot tub overlooking the lake, screened BBQ area to use, but most of all they provide an awesome view of Auke Lake along with the peace and quiet of this area. In the morning, we saw eagles watching for potential breakfast on the lake. (Look out ducks!) The house is decorated with "trophies" that the owner has personally bagged. Dale and Honeybee were delightful. I only wish I'd asked Dale more questions as he knows a LOT!! I went out on my first ever kayak trip (with the inn's own kayak...no charge) and loved it. It was wonderful to be away from the busyness of Juneau and this place is one I'd return to AND recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gallagherfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
10.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#3 of 17 in Juneau
313 reviews
10.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
10 mi away
Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Pearson's Pond Luxury Inn and Adventure Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11595 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing