We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Marvelous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juneau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 27 Juneau B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Marvelous”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Auke Lake B & B is located in a spruce forest on the shores of a lake about ten miles from the middle of Juneau and about one mile as the crow flies from Mendenhall Glacier. The lake is fed in part by the glacier and, also, by the melting snow and runoff of rain from the steep, spruce clad mountains surrounding the lake. The lake is quite cold and stands in contrast to the temp of the hot tub on the deck overlooking the lake. Those bold enough can go from one to the other. In the B & B itself there is a lot of glass on the lake side, and it is a delight to have coffee, tea, breakfast, and snacks overlooking the lake. There are a few neighboring houses about, but they are surrounded by trees, and there is a wonderful sense of privacy and of being in an Alaskan forest. My wife and I stayed a week in order to explore Juneau and the surrounding area at our own pace, and we could not have been happier with this B & B as our base. Our room was quite comfortable and spacious with a micro-wave, refrigerator, sink, T.V., bathroom with shower, queen bed and big couch.The owners, Dale and HoneyBee, are as pleasant as can be, and have full time jobs along with being quite active in the community. It is Crystal and Jake, a wonderful young couple who live on the property, who tended to us. We wanted for nothing with them about. It was a delight knowing all four of these folk. Breakfast is not a full plate of ham and eggs, etc. that one gets in some B & Bs, but is presented as a very satisfying and healthy spread of fresh muffins, bagels, cereals, fruit, milk, juice, coffee and tea that is available in the nice kitchen. Hershey is the sweet and unobtrusive house dog. This place is a gold mine among B & Bs and is a wonderful place to spend some time. We hope we can get back for another extended stay and a visit with the people mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    21
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
36
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Media
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our visit to Juneau in Aug. 2011 was in 2 stages. The 1st night we stayed in town, I will leave the hotel nameless, and it was not quite up to par. The 2nd stage, on the end of our trip to SE Alaska, we decided to end our dream vacation on a high note at Auke Lake B&B. For the small difference in price, we should have stayed at Auke Lake on the first night. A World Of Difference. The entire property was immaculate, warm and welcoming. Crystal & Hershey greeted us upon our arrival, gave us the grand tour, making us feel right at home. Sorry we could not have stayed longer to enjoy the amenities. I have advised anyone who will listen to go to Alaska and when in Juneau look no further, Stay at Auke Lake B & B with Honey and Dale. We'll be back !

Room Tip: From what we experienced all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Timberline Suite in August. The suite was nice, spacious and clean and the view of the lake was spectacular.

I had several itinerary questions before the trip and the hosts took time to respond with detailed responses. Upon arrival our host Dale took time to review our itinerary for the Juneau area and offer helpful suggestions. The thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated.

I don't have much more to add than the previous reviewers except to confirm their positive comments. Great location, beautiful views and wonderful hospitality!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank albtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the Alpine room of the B&B this September. We found the room and the home attractively appointed, spotlessly clean and as comfortable as home. The lake provided a scenic backdrop to our nightly post sightseeing hot tub lounging. We were pleased to be in a secluded, woodsy area but close to all our Juneau activities. The staff cheerfully provided healthy and satisfying assortments of breakfast fare as well as tips for local eating spots and tourist information. We were most pleased with the company of Hershey, the chocolate lab. We showed our dog Daisey Hershey's picture when we got home; she thought him most handsome. We will be back to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne and Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed four nights in the Serengeti Suite at this B&B. The entire property is spotless. Our room was large; there is small frig stocked with soda and water and a coffee pot if you need to have a cup before you go down for the continental breakfast. The breakfast is offered from 7 am to 9 am. There is much to choose from, Crystal will even make you the best waffles you have ever had! The property sits on Auke Lake. You can enjoy the great view from the large deck (there is a hot tub on the deck). If you would like to explore the lake just take out the canoe. If you would like to take a hike there is a maintained trail that runs around the lake, it is an easy hike that offers much to look at. What made the stay special were the people from the B&B- Honeybee, Crystal and Jake. Just ask and they will have all the answers. Staying at this B&B on the lake was one of the best choices we made on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Auke Lake. The place is located on a lake with nice grounds, a hot tub, a gazebo and places to sit outside. Our room was large and very comfortable with a private outside entrance in addition to the entrance from within the house. You should be aware that you do need to climb stairs to get to the room so if you have mobility problems, this may not be the place for you.

The owners are long time residents of Alaska with extensive local knowledge. Crystal who helps them out was very friendly and welcoming.

You do need a car to stay at the Auke Lake and the place is closer to the ferry terminal than the center of town. Also, there are not many restaurants near by so again, a car is necessary. The place is very close to the local university campus so the Auke Lake would be a good place to stay if you are visiting your kids in college.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We almost hated to go to sleep to miss the magnificent views! It was truly spectacular. The hosts were extremely accommodating, in every way possible. We were there for only two nights and wish it could have been more. The furnishings in the room were not typical which made this B&B even more special. We were a family of three, so the room was a bit tight for all of us, but that is the only negative. I totally and thoroughly recommend this place. Even when the SE Alaska weather is rainy and grey, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
3.1 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
10.0 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Juneau
9.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearson's Pond Luxury Inn and Adventure Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11595 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing