We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing and whale watching”

Rum Runner Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Avoid the crowds, Rum Runner Charters specializes in affordable, private, premiere family and small group charters for both Whale Watching and Sport Fishing in some of the most beautiful wilderness and wildlife areas in South East Alaska. Cruise ship passengers and independent groups are welcome. Transportation is provided from your cruise ship or hotel. Local owned and operated for 25 years and going.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fishing and whale watching”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Was supposed to be fishing, but Chris told us there were very few fish being caught so we opted to do the whale watching. We saw whales, otters, sea lions and a few eagles. And lots of other boats. BUT, we did have two humpback whales come up RIGHT NEXT to the boat. Happened so quickly and without warning that it was hard to get good photos. We did see several whales breaching and a good number of tails before they dive Overall, it was a good experience

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank drdivermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    8
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would not hesitate to recommend Rum Runners”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went whale watching with this company on Aug 5. Very personable and easy to book with them. Had a miscommunication with Capt. Chris about where to pick us up, but it was easily ironed out. Picked up right off the boat and taken about 20 minutes away to the marina. Our captain was Josh with deckhand Brett. Very nice young men and very knowledgeable. They had snacks of chips and salsa and drinks of water, coffee and hot chocolate. We saw a ton of whales. I was very impressed with these two. To cap off an already perfect excursion, we saw a bear by some waterfront apartments as we were coming in to the dock. I would never, ever book this type of excursion through the cruise ship. We were supposed to be a party of 5 (only 4 of us ended up going) and it was $599 plus tax. Our ship was going to charge us more for a boat that holds so many people. We actually saw them while we were on the water and you could see the people run from one side of the boat to the other when whales were spotted and their boat would tilt. Would not have enjoyed this nearly as much if we would not have booked with Rum Runner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank soccermomonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great whale watching experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

On a rainy day, Capt. Chris braved the elements and took us out. Light rain was off and on but didn't deter the charter. We saw eagles, seals, otters and whales. Capt. Chris knew where to go for the action and communicated with other charters in the area. It was nice to have the boat to ourselves and not have to joggle with other visitors. There was 4 of us but plenty of room in the cabin to stay dry enough. He was very knowledgeable about the area and shared his info. Great trip, highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First trip was great, second was average”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

First trip we went on with Rum Runner was really great. It was a whale watch and one of the highlights of our trip. Because I loved it so much, I booked again this summer but for a longer trip. We as a group weren't really into fishing (but wanted to try it) and were more interested in wildlife viewing. In retrospect, I should have just booked the whale watch because that is more than enough time to exhaust wildlife viewing efforts and the fishing was neat but we spent a lot of the trip sitting and waiting for a bite. Capitan Josh was great (and was our deckhand last year). I hate to admit it but I liked him more as a deckhand because we got to talk to him and pick his brain a little more. Brett (deckhand for Josh) was clearly new at all of this on top of being very young for which he is forgiven; I just wish Josh had chosen a more dynamic and intelligent deckhand (like himself). Brett is clearly working hard to get up to speed though, so I wish him luck. Just keeping it real...sorry! Despite these picky details, if you are looking for a private charter, you really can't go wrong with this company. They were professional, timely, kind, had a nice boat, fed us, handled all the "gross" stuff in relation to the fish and sent them off to processing for us without extra charges. Overall highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanieW466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Want to See Whales?????”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Chris, Emma and Brandi-dog were fantastic. Greeted on board with fresh pound cake, coffee, soda, and water. Saw LOTS of whales , sea lions, seals, and eagles, all close up. Commentary was very informative, both were knowledgeable and friendly and all of my party enjoyed the ride.
they even provided beautiful weather!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruralmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rum Runner Charters also viewed

 

Been to Rum Runner Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing