We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous luck”
Review of NorthStar Trekking

NorthStar Trekking
Ranked #17 of 79 Outdoor Activities in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Helicopter trekking company offering 3 levels of trekking adventures all with helicopter flight seeing included. These tours are fully outfitted with no experience necessary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous luck”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were very lucky to be able to take this tour (2 hr trek), as trips earlier in the day had been cancelled, and all staff were recalled off the glacier at the end of our trek due to bad weather. We were picked up at the port, and had a short ride out to their facility. We were given protective clothing, harnesses, helmets etc, before taking off in the helicopter. We were flown around the glaciers for a bit, before landing on the Mendenhall glacier, where we met our two guides - Michaela and Mattias (?). We were in a group of 9, with varying levels of confidence. Both my husband and I would have liked to explore more, but understood that the guides had to be constrained by the least confident person. It was cold and wet, but we still had a blast looking at crevasses and small rivers coursing through the ice.
It really was the highlight of our excursions. Thanks to all!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    7
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Excursion Ever!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was by far one of the top ten things I have done and will ever do in my life. We did the Level 3 Trek on the Glacier with Northstar Trekking. You think helicoptering out would be the best part but this is so far from true. On the Level 3, their most difficult excursion, you have over three hours on the glacier - treking, ice climbing, cravassing, etc. It was so exhilirating and so beautiful. We had three guides for a group of around 8 individuals, so more than ample support. We had first class equipment and everything we needed to make the trek. They provided ALL the gear that would ever need. It was perfect, nothing to worry about. We got water (which we promptly dumped to fill with glacier water) and snacks to give us energy for the journey. The best part about this tour is that it is completely unscripted. The glacier is melting and changing hourly so this tour changes everyday. It was so fun exploring and learning from our guides how they change routes. This was physically exerting, but nothing that we couldn't handle. There were all age ranges, from a teenager to someone in their 60's. Depending on your will power and abilities I think most people could do this.

This excursion was THE highlight of our trip. When else do you get to ice climb up a glacier wall??

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheAntebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Six stars aren't available?”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We took a tour with North Star via Princess Cruises. The tour was the glacier walkabout, whichn we decided upon after significant research (the most active allowed for a 13 and a 10 year old). Boy did we hit a home run! Olivia and Grace were fantastic, knowledgeable, patient, and interesting guides, and Tom was a smooth and nice helicopter pilot. The walk on the glacier covered everything we wanted to see including a walk to a crevasse, an ice cave, a potable stream coursing through the glacier, and plenty of time to take in the majesty of nature.

The coup de grace, however, was Shannon back in the main office. You see, we vastly overpacked for this trek (they supply gloves, an outer jacket, boots, and crampons), and didn't want to haul all the stuff back to the ship. Shannon was willing to pack up our extra clothes into a box and bring them to the post office to mail home for me (of course, we paid). This is going above and beyond, in my opinion.

So, if you're looking for a company to get you on a glacier, you shouldn't look any further. No question about it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was one of the top trips of my life and this was one of the reasons why. Words can not describe how amazing of a time we had! Everything was over the top and perfect. DO IT! DO IT! DO IT!!! We did X-Trek July 2012. Seriously something that we will never forget.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristinaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

this was on my bucket list not any more, i booked this on my own, my wife and our group had a great time i cant say enough about this company they were pleasant and a great people to be with from the staff on the ground to the pilot and our tour guides,olivia& makalia they made this trip worth every bit exciting as it could be if i go back there it will be them is company thanks for a great time francis&bonnie masserelli

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HamdenCtFrantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NorthStar Trekking also viewed

 

Been to NorthStar Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing