We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salmon History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DIPAC's Macaulay Salmon Hatchery

DIPAC's Macaulay Salmon Hatchery
Ranked #13 of 78 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Macaulay Salmon Hatchery Visitor's Center offers a unique variety of attractions & a truly Alaskan experience! Get a birds-eye-view of our outdoor hatchery operations while a local guide shares with you the fascinating life cycle of an Alaskan salmon and the inner workings of the hatchery. During the months of May and June, you will have the opportunity to see juvenile salmon prior to their release. Adult salmon start returning in Late June and continue through October. Bald Eagles and seals frequent the hatchery and provide a fantastic wildlife viewing opportunity. Once inside, explore our salt water aquariums displaying over 150 species of marine life, including touch-tank aquariums where you will have the chance to physically interact with local sea animals. Venture through our gift-shop where we make it easy to ship wild Alaskan salmon anywhere in the United States. Wow your taste buds when you take the opportunity to taste a variety of salmon samples such as: king salmon dip, salmon caviar, salmon jerky, & canned salmon. A fun, affordable, & educational experience for the whole family!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
550 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Salmon History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This little gem is a definite part of the Alaskan culture. Was very interesting to see how the salmon population is preserved. Nice viewing area of the hatchery and interesting tour of how all parts of the salmon is utilized, nothing is wasted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kythoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    137
    55
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Learning the way of the salmon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A visit to the hatchery is as educational as it is spectacular!
AS youi walkl the ways of the salmon upon entering the hatchery yioiu get an idea of the plight of the salmon to get back to their place of birth.
The hatchery in this case was the place of birth of the fish that progress up the ways tot he interior of the building.
Fish farming is not allowed in Alaska but capturing wild salmon and providing a better enviornment for a more successful hatch is the job of the hatchery.
If you are there at the right time of year you might see 100 pound fish in the ways as they swim up the hatchery stream to donate their eggs and sperm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Replenshing the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I learned much about how these hatcheries replenish the ocean with salmon and how they go about it. We were able to see a video of the process and to see millions of salmon in their tanks. The entire process is amazingly successful and the salmon is never wasted but recycled in different ways; as frozen fish sold to other countries, made into fertilizer or pet foods. When you think about each female carrying 2,000 eggs and with this process every egg is fertilized. Learning how we can help nature I feel is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EKahaialii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“fish fish and fish ( Read Salmon )”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Well visit to this Hatchery was part of city tour of Juneau and we were not very excited to go there initially.But once there we were amazed to see the way the whole place is run and how the fish are released in open sea and for first time we learned that fish once come back to the place of it,s birth.For that even if it has to travel various seas it does and returns once.
The place was overflowing with Salmon in different stages Overall interesting place for people of all ages to spend about an hour plus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ashoksaxena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Salmon Galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Watch the salmon try to climb the ladder to the Hatchery. See the thousands of young salmon at different stages of maturity. Very nice large show tank of local fish and corals. Try the samples of smoked salmon and have a coffee. Large outdoor tanks with hundreds of mature Salmon waiting to reproduce. Learn how to distinguish each kind of salmon, and much more. Very interesting and informative,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DIPAC's Macaulay Salmon Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to DIPAC's Macaulay Salmon Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing