We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Taste" of Alaska in one place for one price.”

Taku Glacier Lodge & Wings Airways
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Best Glacier Flightseeing Adventures & Excursion Tours in Southeast Alaska! Offering glacier flightseeing by 10 passenger deHavilland Otter seaplane from the historic downtown Juneau waterfront. Tour includes the ultimate combination tour: the Taku Lodge Feast & 5-Glacier Seaplane Discovery (3 hours incluiding flightseeing and 2 hours at the remote Taku Glacier Lodge and King Salmon feast. Also possible black bear sightings). Second tour option is the one hour 5-Glacier Flightseeing Exploration to view five glaciers of the Juneau Icefield, including the largest glacier in the whole icefield. See the Grandeur of Juneau, Alaska from Your Own Alaskan Float Plane Tour!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great "Taste" of Alaska in one place for one price.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We, my husband and I, booked this excursion through our Princess Cruise. It was the end of July booked for 12:30pm. This was way better then we anticipated. First a bus takes you to the planes. Then you board the float plane with a 30 minute flight over the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. Lots of glaciers all looking different. I got several pictures. Very professional flight with safety talk. You put ear phones on and a tape tells you where you are and what you are seeing. I was never nervious or scared. Smooth as could be. The weather was overcast but not rainy. We landed, got off the plane and walked to the lodge. Within 5 minutes I saw a mother bear and her babies in a tree and a male bear eatting blue berries with the hole in the wall glacier in the back ground. Wow, what pictures I got. We went in and got an Alaskan Amber beer to drink and came back out to walk around. There where men around with long poles to keep the bears away from guest. I never felt scared or worried. We watched them grill our salmon while we drank our brew. After they took the salmon in they let the bears come up and clean the grill. That was when the bears got jealous of each other and growled. I got great pictures of this also. I then went in the lodge where my husband was going down the buffet. We sat in front of the huge window and ate our salmon, apples, rolls, slaw, beans on a big platter that I later bought at the gift shop. I had warm spiced tea to drink and ginger cookies. We were stuffed. I then went out and laid in the hammock for a few minutes before shopping in the gift shop. We then went on a short walk behind the lodge that was very enjoyable but then we had to hurry to catch our plane back to town. Only one negative. The worst mosquitos I have ever seen and I am from the south. They do have bottles of bug spray you can use at the door to the lodge but you might want to bring your own. I would not have missed this trip for the world. You get a great "taste" of Alaska all in one place for one price.

Visited July 2012
4 Thank LisaWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
la la
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

you see bears in front of you. wild bears. salmon is out of this world good. eagles fly overhead. seaplane over ice fields and glaciers. need i say more its incredible

Visited May 2012
1 Thank LaLaBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take the Brunch Flight/Tour!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We loved every minute of this tour. After reading about it here and on other sites, we decided to go ahead even though it seems expensive. By the time we decided to book it from our Cruise ship web site before we left, Disney, it appeared to be sold out. I went direct to their web site and got a reservation for the 8:30 a.m. flight/tour - for breakfast. And saved some money to boot! What a great decision. The weather was good and it was clear. You should definitely check the weather and I am thinking that mornings may be best before any weather rolls in but you will have to decide. Our pilot, Sam, one of the owners, was very nice and informative. Checking in, boarding, etc. went perfectly and we were off! Once airborne, there is an automated narration about the area and the glaciers. Wonderful. Saw every glacier, the area, the Taku River, etc. Just as advertised. The lodge is what I was expecting of an Alaskan Lodge - just beautiful and full of history. Mike told us about the lodge, the history and then took us on a trail around the property talking about the forest, etc. Informative. We went to see a waterfall on our own as this is a short walk down a trail. The breakfast includes everything that the other Lodge tours have plus scones and biscuits. Delicious. Not a big fish fan but the grilled salmon was great. Coffee, tea, drinks, reindeer sausage, beans, a hot apple concoction and more! My better half does not do fish so she got the chicken. Also very nice. But if you want the chicken, make sure you tell them at the Wings building or as soon as you get to the Lodge so that they may cook it in time with the fish. Started to rain about the time we left and the clouds moved in. Never felt unsafe but I am a pilot and knew what was going on. You can sit up front with the pilot if you ask - so ask! Great operation all the way around.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went on a Disney Cruise and this excursion was Aug 31. Luckily, we had excellent sunny weather. This excursion was the best. The view was awesome. The food was excellent. Which, was nice in comparison to disney cruise food. The salmon was the best we have ever had. The meal reminded me of Thanksgiving dinner. Not necessarily the type of food just the environment....comforting.Juneau has a rain forest. The mosquitoes were worse than a Louisiana swamp while in the woods walking. Not bad around the lodge. You will see black bear because they come in after the salmon is grilled. At least they did while we were there. The hole in the wall glacier was beautiful. We would have stayed for a week, if possible.

Visited August 2012
1 Thank dvcmemberarkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

SO many positive reviews of this excursion. Well I have a totally different experience. I went on a Disney excursion to Taku Glacier Lodge and the weather was so bad, that we faintly saw one glacier out of the 5 promised. We faintly saw an ice field. And upon arriving at the lodge didn't see the Taku Glacier. Long nerving experience - the float planes could not land to pick us up and we were stranded for a number of hours until helicopters flew in to evacuate us. There was talk about us having to sleep on the floor of the lodge or gift shop; and when we could re join the cruise ship was questionable. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE AT ALL.
So my suggestion would be - NOT TO BOOK until you know the weather will be good. We booked this trip for 07 sept. The tour operator and Disney cruise line were totally uncooperative regarding refunding any part of this tour. the flight we were on should never have taken off as there were more flights that were being cancelled due to weather. The tour operators comment was - we would never take off if it was not safe. Safe and the promised itinerary were 2 different things. Why go on a flight if the weather is so called safe but you don't get to see what is promised. And then to top it off - cannot return but are stranded and then arriving back on the cruise ship after departure time - in a panic, worried, bad weather etc etc. Very scary helicopter ride. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.
A horrible trip.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wings Airways T, Manager at Taku Glacier Lodge & Wings Airways, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We would like to begin with extending our most sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations, and instead providing an experience that was ultimately hampered by weather beyond our control…causing you worry and panic. We understand that you were very uncomfortable throughout the experience and we whole-heartedly apologize for that. We would never try to argue or defend what your feelings of the experience, however we would simply like to share the unique situation that led to your rare experience. (We apologize in advance for the lengthy response.)

Weather is, unfortunately, always a factor in all that we do. We live, work, and play in the Tongass National Forrest… a temperate rain forest that can bring drastic and sudden changes in weather. Many days of the season we can and do fly when it is raining, but those days also provide amazing views of the glaciers and highlight the deep blue hues that are not as obvious on a sunny day. As with every flight we scrutinized the departure and scoured over the current weather forecast and the trends that we had been experiencing all day. The weather was expected to hold and improve. The 117 passengers that we had flown throughout the day were thrilled with their experience, including the guests that were departing the Taku Lodge upon your arrival. On the pilots return to Juneau they noticed the weather deteriorating and the decision was made to return to the Taku Lodge to retrieve your group prior to your scheduled departure. Within the 40 minutes it took our pilots to drop off passengers in Juneau, then return to the Taku Lodge, the weather had deteriorated to the point that our pilots felt it was not safe to return your group by floatplanes the weather in Southeast Alaska is ever changing and cannot be controlled. What we can control is the safety of our passengers, and that is our absolute number one concern. Once we determined the weather had changed for the worse, and looked like it would not improve, we immediately enlisted the skilled efforts of a local helicopter company to begin the process of returning guests safely to Juneau. Helicopters are a secure alternative in challenging weather conditions. The ship captain and the Port Adventure staff of the Disney Wonder were in constant communication with our company and firmly stated the ship would remain in port until the safe return of their guests. The docking facility was cleared and a temporary helicopter landing area was established adjacent to the ship to facilitate a unique and convenient return to Juneau. Additional hospitality was extended at the Taku Lodge to ensure all guests were comfortable with additional and continuous meal service, open bar, a crackling fire, five wonderful bears deciding to visit and constant communication with guests as to the process unfolding. The entire operation included the efforts of no less than 46 capable individuals between multiple Juneau flight bases, multiple pilots, the cruise ship, and the Taku Lodge to ensure the return of all guests to the ship. We were advised that you were upset both at the Taku Lodge and once back onboard the ship. We were honestly devastatingly sorry to hear that, as we had taken every possible measure to ensure the safety and comfort of each and every guest. When we use the term “unique situation” we are describing a particular situation that has arisen only one other time in the last 10 years.

We genuinely strive to provide wonderful, memorable experiences into the true Alaska. Your tour took a twist and you did indeed experience the true Alaska, but not by choice…and for that we are so sorry. If you ever do return to Juneau we would love to show you what we do in the best of conditions!

Holly Johnson, President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taku Glacier Lodge & Wings Airways also viewed


Been to Taku Glacier Lodge & Wings Airways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing