We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Prospector Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prospector Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I arrived at the prospector a few hours early and even though it was high season, the front desk staff got me in to my room early. They also went out of their way to help put my suitcase back together when the wheels fell off. The hotel is on the outskirts of downtown. It was nicer to be a bit further away from the tourist part and was about a five minute walk into town. It is in my good location with an IGA around the corner, a bus stop near by and great restaurants.

Rooms are spacious, only downside is there's no air conditioning and the room became a bit muggy. But then again I'm sure it doesn't get this warm during the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river. The views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borneotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    38
    26
    27
See reviews for
40
37
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but the hotel is undergoing renos and the state museum behind it is being torn down. So, it can be quite noisy at times. The front desk staff did not go out of their way to be helpful when we checked in during the afternoon hours, practically hiding in the back on the phone. Personnel staffing the desk later into the dinner hour seemed MUCH friendlier.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Burlington, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the Prospector for our sons wedding. We wanted adjoining rooms to be with our daughter's family from New York & they were so comfortable. Nice, big rooms for us to gather in plus the restaurant put on a wonderful spread of food as we hosted the rehearsal dinner. We actually enjoyed the food @ the restaurant over what we had when eating downtown. VERY friendly, accommodating staff as were all the folks in Juneau. Only drawback was the showers-didn't have a steady stream of warm water.

Room Tip: We really liked the rooms facing the channel. It was fun to wake up & see the water, critters &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

It seems most hotels in Juneau are very pricey and not very nice. Our third floor water view room was decent. It felt fairly clean but there were hairs in the bathroom and the linens were clearly worn in. The mattress was okay for a few nights. Our view was nice but there is a busy road right outside. Since the room was so warm we slept with the window open and traffic was loud. We could hear everything going on in the rooms next to and above us. I wouldn't suggest this hotel if you're hoping to sleep in. It was nice being able to walk to town.

Room Tip: Water view is on the noisy traffic side. Try to get the top floor to limit noise from people above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The Prospector has modest accommodations but is in a great location downtown with access to pretty much anything you could want. Free wifi that was of decent speed (a big plus in Alaska), bed was decent, with everything everything else pretty much up to par for an average hotel.

It's a 10 minute drive from the airport and there is no airport shuttle at this hotel so keep that in mind as a taxi ride to and from the hotel would probably run you around 20 bucks per direction.

As far as value goes this hotel is a pretty good deal for a hotel in Alaska, in the summertime. Summertime hotel rates in AK are commonly around 200 bucks a night with meager accommodations.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I arrived at the hotel to be told that there was no record of my reservation. They finally found the Hotel's paper copy of my reservation. I was told that when transferring my info from the paper copy to their computer system someone entered my arrival date the day before I arrived. Hence the reason my reservation was nonexistent. After a lot of work on the part of the night manager I received the room I had originally been promised.

The room was perfect from the perspective of the view. I spent every morning and evening on the balcony watching harbor seals, eagles, ravens, float planes coming and going as well as watching the cruise ships.

The room was a bit run down but it was clean, a very comfortable environment, quiet.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel is very good in terms of ease of walking to the downtown sites, Mt Roberts etc.

The four lane road was noisy but was easy to ignore.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau99801, Owner at Prospector Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your recent stay at the Prospector Hotel. I agree with you we have a great staff that work daily trying to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Yes, the views from the waterside rooms are spectacular and it sounds like you took advantage of our location for other adventures downtown and to Mt. Roberts, Fantastic. Please share the Prospector Hotel and Juneau, Alaska with any friends you have considering a great trip. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located near downtown Juneau amd a short ride to Mendenhall Glacier. Most trail heads are walkable too. The room and bed were comfortable and our room had a lot of space. We have nothing bad to say about our experience and would recommend it to people. The front desk staff were helpful to us too. And this place does have free wifi that works well. New TV and fride were in our room if you get stuck inside.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau99801, Owner at Prospector Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments here. I'm glad that you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the free wi-fi that we have worked on long and hard to cover 100% of the property and provide plently of bandwidth for all our guests devices. Most of our rooms (except Executive Suite) are larger than standard hotel rooms as the property was built for long term stays back in the 70's. All the kitchenettes have been removed and the hospitality units with microwave, refrig and coffee service occupy some of that space. These MQQ rooms are 30% larger than most standard hotel rooms. Thanks again for staying with us at the Prospector Hotel and wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
421 reviews
7.0 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#14 of 16 in Juneau
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel

Property: Prospector Hotel
Address: 375 Whittier St, Juneau, AK 99801-1718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospector Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prospector Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing