We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not one of the top hotels, but you'll survive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospector Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prospector Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not one of the top hotels, but you'll survive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The view (facing the water) is gorgeous. Amazingly beautiful bay surrounded by mountains. The hotel is tolerable. Nothing fancy or special. The rooms are dated and worn. It doesn't come close to the Baranoff which was full when I visited. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. A cocktail in the bar was okay. And it was close enough to walk and admire beautiful views to the Capitol and other downtown spots.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water (and mountains). But if you don't face the water, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PositiveEnerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    37
    24
    27
See reviews for
40
35
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

First of all you have to know that when you visit Juneau, there's not going to be major chain hotels in town. I stayed here this summer and absolutely enjoyed my time. Get over the fact that you're not living in the lap of luxury and go downstairs and get a drink.

All of the staff (the hotel/restaurant and bar) are great. The restaurant is great for breakfast, I enjoyed being able to unwind in the bar and order food there. It's a little further out from the center of town than other hotels which is why I'm giving it a 4, but it is still very walkable.

The rooms are very large, they did "update" the bathrooms, but overall the hotel does feel old, but that's part of the charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Steve was awesome - You need a new maintenance person though , one who will get on problems as soon as they occur, not leave lights burned out for months on end.
How much is a good desk clerk worth? It's important that a person take pride in where they work, steve obviously does, and it shows in his dealings with customers.

Room Tip: do not take one on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticmountain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you come in when the wrong (by this I mean not helpful or kind) person is on duty or you come in at night and look at your room which might appear to be not the best place to spend the night, it will all change once you experience the magic dust of Ken or the understanding eyes of Steve, and you see your room in the light of day. Ken and Steve could work anywhere in the world at a hotel such as the Ritz or the Conrad if they wished, but instead tourists and locals alike are blessed and warmed by their presence, Your wish is their command-and it is given with grace and aplomb. As for the rooms, it is worth the extra 29 dollars if you wish to stay in a room that you would want to curl up in in an Alaskan winter. The fridge is really clean and keeps things cold and crisp. I did not use the microwave. There is a comfortable sitting chair and leg rest and two large closet spaces (one is big enough to feel like a separate space). In addition,
the Prospector is close to the well stocked (including organic fruits, veggies etc) grocery store, the Alaska State Art Museum and more. If you want to know what is available whilst you are there just ask Ken or Steve. On a personal note, Ken and Steve welcomed me and my service dog in an exemplary way. If the rest of the world understood and accepted someone with non apparent disabilities such as myself, the suffering in the world would be non extant.

Room Tip: if noise bothers you ask to be moved also, watch out for the Taku winds (as they are called) they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameliaspirit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Don't let the outside scare you! Yes, the rooms appear dated but they were extremely large and comfortable. Alaska isn't supposed to be extremely fancy and for the kind service and price this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We finished our trip with InnerSeas Discoveries here before returning home. When we arrived the room we had booked was not available; fortunately another guest offered to switch rooms.

The restaurant is good family faire, and the location is just a short walk to downtown.

Its a good basic hotel for family travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was a bit apprehensice when I saw the outside building. But due to the location near the water and the weather in Alaska (humidity) Now I understand. My wife & I were very much satisfied when we walk in the lobby
Great location to walk around town. Nice size room,
Yes the room have been renovated. very much satisfied

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.0 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel

Property: Prospector Hotel
Address: 375 Whittier St., Juneau, AK 99801-1781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospector Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Prospector Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing