We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prospector Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prospector Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Steve was awesome - You need a new maintenance person though , one who will get on problems as soon as they occur, not leave lights burned out for months on end.
How much is a good desk clerk worth? It's important that a person take pride in where they work, steve obviously does, and it shows in his dealings with customers.

Room Tip: do not take one on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticmountain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    34
    23
    27
See reviews for
37
31
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you come in when the wrong (by this I mean not helpful or kind) person is on duty or you come in at night and look at your room which might appear to be not the best place to spend the night, it will all change once you experience the magic dust of Ken or the understanding eyes of Steve, and you see your room in the light of day. Ken and Steve could work anywhere in the world at a hotel such as the Ritz or the Conrad if they wished, but instead tourists and locals alike are blessed and warmed by their presence, Your wish is their command-and it is given with grace and aplomb. As for the rooms, it is worth the extra 29 dollars if you wish to stay in a room that you would want to curl up in in an Alaskan winter. The fridge is really clean and keeps things cold and crisp. I did not use the microwave. There is a comfortable sitting chair and leg rest and two large closet spaces (one is big enough to feel like a separate space). In addition,
the Prospector is close to the well stocked (including organic fruits, veggies etc) grocery store, the Alaska State Art Museum and more. If you want to know what is available whilst you are there just ask Ken or Steve. On a personal note, Ken and Steve welcomed me and my service dog in an exemplary way. If the rest of the world understood and accepted someone with non apparent disabilities such as myself, the suffering in the world would be non extant.

Room Tip: if noise bothers you ask to be moved also, watch out for the Taku winds (as they are called) they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameliaspirit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Don't let the outside scare you! Yes, the rooms appear dated but they were extremely large and comfortable. Alaska isn't supposed to be extremely fancy and for the kind service and price this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We finished our trip with InnerSeas Discoveries here before returning home. When we arrived the room we had booked was not available; fortunately another guest offered to switch rooms.

The restaurant is good family faire, and the location is just a short walk to downtown.

Its a good basic hotel for family travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was a bit apprehensice when I saw the outside building. But due to the location near the water and the weather in Alaska (humidity) Now I understand. My wife & I were very much satisfied when we walk in the lobby
Great location to walk around town. Nice size room,
Yes the room have been renovated. very much satisfied

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We got in at about midnight in mid-August on a ferry from Skagway. Nicest possible reception person (this was 14 Aug 2012, well really in the wee hours of 15 Aug). Room was very nice, clean, comfortable. The only problem was it was too hot.

Room Tip: You may want to check for a room with good cross ventilation and then open the windows (in the summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew10480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night. Won't be back. Room had stale musty odor, that took a walk to town and back, with both windows open for 2 hrs. To clear out. Resturant? Don't really recall eating anything I would fly back to Alaska to consume. Bring your own towels . Theirs are kinda scratchy, and not plentiful. For $178 I can stay in the French Quarter, Hilton, new Orleans . So, including the $22.00 cab ride from airport and the $178 , I left $200. It's not the money, ever, it's the value! Oh, no mint on the flat pillows!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#13 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel

Property: Prospector Hotel
Address: 375 Whittier St, Juneau, AK 99801-1718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospector Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prospector Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing