We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best deal value/price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juneau International Hostel

Juneau International Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juneau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juneau International Hostel
Save
You added Juneau International Hostel to your Saves list
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best deal value/price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights
Fo 12$ per night they really offer a clean, safe and friendly environment.
It's not perfection but it's really worth to try.
Would advise it to a friend

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappykoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
5
10
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Location is a bit uphill but still everything within walking distance. Be sure to make reservations ahead and be aware that there are small chores to do (but you can select tham yourself from a list, should not be more work than 10 min).
Best value for the rooms (10$). Kitchen is very well equipped. also be aware that there are separate dorms for male (downstairs) and female (upstairs).
Staff is friendly if you are as well.
We really enjoed our stay and will go there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizzmo990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

when traveling on the cheap, this hostel is worth a visit. everyone chips in on the chores to help keep it clean (& cheap). dorm room accommodations, yet everyone contributes to make it feel like home; comfortable living room; complete kitchen; all sorts of visitors; and close to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backtoGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Would only stayhere as a last resort - staff could organise a drink in a bar - hard beds - 12 in a room no bigger than a laundry - I could go on

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Juneau hostel during a holiday travelling up the Inside Passage by ferry and then travelling on to Dawson City. Staying at the Juneau hostel was one of the most enjoyable places to stay during our trip.

There is just one family room at the hostel so book early! It has its own bathroom and 5 beds. The chores are very reasonable and it is great value for money.

The best thing about the hostel is its location which is in downtown Juneau in a lovely residential area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Snashbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I didn't expect much considering the low daily rate, but it turned out to be fine. The hostel is a large building up the hill from downtown (everything is up the hill in Juneau). It is well managed, clean, has spacious common rooms. The kitchen has two cook stoves and plenty of counter space. There are places to sit out in the yard and on the front porch. There is a natural food store within a block or two and large grocery stores down the hill. Restaurants are not far down the hill in town. The hostel is in a residential area with great fresh air and onstreet parking. There are 5-7 minute daily chores which everyone does cheerfully. The women's dorm room I slept in had 8 beds and several snorers so bring ear plugs and an eye mask (as you should do everywhere you travel). The women's bath had 2 showers, 2 toilets, several sinks and good ventilation. Washing machines are in the basement and they are busy (take your opportunity when available). There is a lockout during the day, but there is plenty to do in Juneau both indoors and outdoors. Stayed here 5 nights. The greatest problem is the lack of public transportation from the ferry terminal to town. Upon arrival we shared a taxi with another couple (the taxi van took 4 people max.) When departing Juneau we took the public bus to the airport and a taxi from there. The taxi was cheaper from the airport, but of course this took more time. Juneau is the state capital, occupies a narrow strip of land enclosed by mountains. Lovely harbor, good museums and hiking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maineexpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaydajay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I must have stayed on an off night. My room and the bathroom both smelled terrible! I had a 2 inch wide mattress on a squeaky, loud, and unstable bunk bed. I woke up every time I rolled over and the frame shook whenever the person below me coughed or moved. However, the staff was very sweet and the common facilities were great, and it's only $10 per night. Beautiful views and location, but a terrible might's sleep, unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#13 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#4 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juneau International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juneau International Hostel

Property: Juneau International Hostel
Address: 614 Harris St, Juneau, AK 99801-1076
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juneau Hostel is a non-profit, volunteer-run, public service to provide affordable accommodation for travelers and the families from the outlying communities of Southeast Alaska. Because we are volunteer-run, we have day jobs, which is why we have the 9-5 lock-out, and which is why we are particular about everybody leaving at 9. We have to go to work. The 11 pm curfew ensures quiet, safe, family-oriented accommodation. The gender segregated dorm rooms have no more than 8 beds in the largest room. Yes, the beds are uncomfortable, but you won’t find cleaner or safer accommodations anywhere in the world. In addition, we provide linens, towels, wifi, unlimited hot water, a kitchen and comfortable common area and coin-operated laundry facilities. We are open 350 days a year and the managers live onsite with children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juneau International Hotel Juneau
Juneau International Hostel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing