We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Must Do while in Juneau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendenhall Glacier

Mendenhall Glacier
Book In Advance
$79.00*
and up
Mendenhall Glacier Smartphone Photography and Hiking Tour
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Mendenhall Lake, this glacier is 1.5 miles wide and 12 miles long.
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Must Do while in Juneau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited Mendenhall Glacier as part of an "Explorer Tour" in mid-June with perfect weather. From the port, it's a short 15 minute drive by bus to the entrance of the park. A Visitor's Center sits at the base where a short video can be viewed showing the history including time-lapse video. There are also several trails that are fairly easy for anyone to walk (most are paved). You can get close to the waterfall just to the right of the glacier but you can't walk on the glacier itself. We were told there are very few options to get to walk on the glacier unless you book a helicopter flight (very pricey). Never-the-less, we still enjoyed our close up view after walking the trail to the end. This should be on everyone's list to things-to-do while stopping in Juneau.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,702
    1,004
    137
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Personal Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ended up getting a free, personal tour from the Forest Ranger! He was able to point out mountain goats, tell us about all of the animals living near the glacier and provide us with amazing insight! When you go, simply keep your eyes open for the rangers walking on the trails. They were very friendly and made the experience so much better

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank berkboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“See a spectacular glacier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited during port stop on HAL cruise, but purchased our own shuttle tickets ($15 each on the pier) rather than taking a ship's tour. Beautiful sunny day (rare) so we not only visited the educational and interesting visitor's center and watched the film about Glacier, but also hiked the 1 mile trail through the woods to Nugget Falls. Spring flowers were out, the falls spectacular (especially up close), and the views of the glacier awe inspiring. Small fee paid at the visitor's center. Shuttle ride takes about 15 minutes from downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank KLD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
206 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Felt very safe walking on the Glacier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was an amazing Glacier to visit. We walked on the glacier as part of a Temsco helicopter flight. Got some fantastic photos and spoke to others that viewed it from the lake below and they also loved the glacier experience. Not to be missed however you see it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A sight to see firsthand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took a combination tour but I would have liked to have stayed longer and really taken our time. My husband and our friend rushed down to the waterfall to take photos so I wish we could have had a more leisure visit, It is something to see firsthand. REading the reviews does not really do it justice. We saw bald eagles and enjoyed the little of the visitors center that we were able to take in. I would encourage all to see and take your time. We had to go to our next tour otherwise would have stayed. Restrooms at the bottom need to be larger for women-always a line for some reason.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhxAzNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendenhall Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Mendenhall Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing