We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth It”

Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or...
More Info
$141.75*
and up
Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Tour from Juneau
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mendenhall Glacier is easily accessible via roads from the local airport, cruise ship terminal and state ferry terminal. Our facility and lands are managed by the federal government through the United States Forest Service. Federal passes are accepted and sold s well as daily passes. There is a visitor center with a theater showing a 15-minute film on Mendenhall Glacier, a bookstore operated by nonprofit organization Discovery Southeast, and exhibits on wildlife, history, and glacial and geological changes. Rangers provide talks at various indoor and outdoor sites in summer. Open hours in summer are daily 8am to 7:30pm. Due to wildlife and bears, no food is allowed outdoors from April-November. There is no beverage or food service available to prevent bears from becoming food-conditioned. Nearby Steep Creek is the spawning stream for wild sockeye salmon from late July through early September. Later in the fall, a run of coho salmon spawn in the creek. Porcupines can be seen foraging on leaves in deciduous trees. Beavers are visible early in the morning and in the evening. Learn about Alaska and the natural world around the glacier and lake. Enjoy a one-hour hike to 400-foot-tall Nugget Falls. Other trails lead to different habitats. In winter, the visitor center is open Friday-Sunday from 10am to 4pm and closed on federal holidays.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth It”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Pros: Standing 20 feet from a bear.

Cons: Didn't have enough time to hike all the trails, or enough money for a helicopter, or a gauntlet to let me pet the porcupine sitting within arms reach.

And of course, it was mild and sunny for me; your experience will almost certainly differ due to the fact that the Mendenhall Glacier is located in the middle of a rainforest and you didn't strike any devilbargains with the Sun God.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scatterburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,308
    1,206
    168
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Get the chopper!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

And walk on the glacier - it is fantastic. You gear up at the airport - ski boots, pants, red wind jacket, bum bag etc. Great view from the helicopter as you flly to the glacier. Then the guides (very knowledgeable) put crampons on everyone and give you a ski stick. The group (we had 3 choppers with about 10 in the group all up) is then taken round the top of the glacier - see cravasses, waterfall etc, explanations of glacier history, geology etc. Beautiful blue. Short trip back to the airport. It was one of the highlights of our Alaskan trip. Well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO COOOOL!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012


Chuck F
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes
“amazing visit”
Reviewed October 9, 2012
The visitors center is amazing. Lots of history and information on the glacier. Having an actual chunk of ice on display was really fun to see and touch. The trail out to the water falls is well maintained and an easy walk. Such a treasure to be able to see the glacier so up close. The colors in the ice were beyond description. A must see if in the area. I would love to kayak the lake the next time I am there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling addic... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My first visit to Alaska was by cruise ship. One of the ports of call by Holland America was Juneau, the capital city of Alaska and wow, its land locked! The only way to access Juneau is by boat or air. While in Juneau, we took a side excursion to Mendenhall Glacier. This was my first time seeing a huge massive glacier up close. The hiking trails are excellent. We even saw a black bear and many bald eagles while on the trail. Very stunning place. The park visitor center is very nice also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An awe of an attraction”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We're does one even begin on how to describe their experience at this huge glacier standing hundreds of feet outside the water and probe rely extending loads of miles across the top.

My experience was an amazing one I got to see the glacier up close and personal and also had the oppurtunity to walk down to the waterfall right next to the glacier were I also saw a mother black bear an her cub walking right across my path , that just added to this "awe" experience

I would recommend this to any traveller going to Juneau Alaska as it is a once in a lifetime experience and something you will not get to see any else in the world and with all the climate changes happening on this face of our earth the best time to view it would be know because who knows we're it might be in years to come

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing