We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climbing Mt. Roberts in Juneau”

Mount Roberts Trail
Ranked #9 of 84 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hiking trail beginning in downtown Juneau that is great for novices.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Climbing Mt. Roberts in Juneau”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently enjoyed a Alaska Cruise Tour on the "Diamond Princess" and one of the stops was in Juneau. We took the tram to the top of Mt. Roberts on a previous trip and enjoyed it very much. This time a waiter in a local restaurant told us that there is a easy path up to the top and once you are there , all you need to do is spend $5.- per person in the mountain top Restaurant and you can take the tram down for free. The regular fare is $29.-.
Well, we took the trail, not realizing that it had rained very hard for the previous week. It was muddy and slippery but there are great views and we had a great time. Then we stopped in the Restaurant and were told you had to spent $10.- per person to ride the tram. We drank a bottle of wine and later to our surprise it turned out you had to pay nothing to ride down. Nobody is asking for a receipt or anything. It was a great walk and we had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank tedkeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    134
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great way to get to the high country above Juneau!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

clear, dry weather makes this an easy way to get to the top of the ridge above Juneau. They have an ok native shop and restaurant where you can get local Halibut and local Beer after the big, or little, climb.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Worth the visit if you have time...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went up on last visit expecting a tourist trap. To my surprise there was plenty to do, walked up the mountain on trails, looked down on the town and inlet. Saw eagles soaring above and below the review. After spending most of a day delightfully walking the mountain, went to tourist area and also had fun.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were fortunate to be in Juneau when the weather was warm, clear and sunny.
My friend and I hiked up the Mount Roberts trail. It was not too difficult but you need to be reasonably fit as there are some steep parts but the views were spectacular. You will need good walking shoes and I would expect it to be slippery if it was wet and raining.
I am a fairly fit 60 ish person and I did not find it difficult and it was well worth it for the views and the sense of satisfaction. We took the cable car down. There is a visitors' centre and cafe at the top.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MargaretMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great short hike in Juneau”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a nice hike if you are limited on time or energy. The round trip usually takes me about 90 minutes, but that is hiking at a pretty good clip. The trail has been upgraded recently and is in excellent condition. You may encounter snow on the trail into June. And as always in Alaska take precautions for possible bear encounters.

It is a little bit frustrating getting to the top and encountering hundreds of people who took the easy way up! (the tram)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WYglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Roberts Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing