We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There is nowhere else in the world I would rather stay for comfort, warmth, quiet and peace. For r
rough corners left after a plane flight. We missed the nights apparently spend around the fire listening to Maggie sing songs of Hope and provide its history, but she was captivating enough even in short conversation. If you are in Alaska, do not overlook Hope. The quiet is itself relief.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanny60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was the perfect Alaska cabin experience. Out in the forest, quaint cabin, wood stove going, cold rainy weather! Loved it. Wish I would have booked more nights here but this was our last night in Alaska. Everything was perfect. Went to the Seaview Café for dinner, had great fish and chips. Visited the mining museum, got a great tour of the place. Next visit to Alaska we will definitely return here! Thanks Maggie for having such a beautiful cabin!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved staying in this private setting a stones throw away from Maggie and her dog toby. Toby is not long for this world but always kept an eye on us. This is the cleanest place we stayed in Alaska next to the Holiday Inn Express in Fairbanks. Sitting with Maggie by the fire was very special.

I will definitely stay here again. Fishing and food were also great in Hope.

Maggie is great. You can't go wrong at her place. brett

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of the purposes of vacation is to forget about life’s ills. Maggie (the innkeeper) and her idyllic retreat make realizing that goal easy. My fiancé and I have never had an evening of travel that eclipses our night at Black Bear.

This B and B is perfectly tucked into Maggie’s little corner of Hope, not far from the local bar, restaurant, and waterfront. But the perspective that comes with being in the Alaskan wilderness is not diminished by the convenience of being so close to town; Black Bear has the perfect balance of wilderness and creature comforts (generously provided by Maggie and her loyal pooch, Toby).

Enjoy learning about where you are visiting? Talking to Maggie is a lesson in Alaskan history. We conversed until we had seemingly covered all the territory’s tragedies and triumphs (it turns out there are many ways to die in Alaska). Her personal stories about the challenges of growing up in such an unforgiving region are fascinating, so be sure to ask.

Of course if it is peace a quiet that you seek, Black Bear is the perfect place to find it.

My only regret is that we had to leave after only one night. Hopefully, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our last night in Alaska (July 2012) (before going on to New York = what a change!) we spent it in the tiny village of Hope in Maggies Black Bear B&B.

The location: quiet and peaceful
The cabin: very well equipped - clean - comfortable
The host: well: we'd call it perfect: We'll always remember the drink and talk we had around the fire = it was the perfect last evening in Alaska. Thank you Maggie!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank MaDu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found this B&B somewhat by accident, and were very fortunate that it was available for the night. Maggie is a perfect hostess, welcoming and friendly, but leaving you plenty of privacy if you wish. The cabin was tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable. The screened in porch was such a nice to place to sit and enjoy the beautiful setting without getting eaten by mosquitoes! The breakfast was simple but good, and we appreciated being able to eat on our own schedule. The town of Hope is off the beaten path (but not too far!), and a charming little town. We were only here one night, but it would be a great base for visiting the sights on Kenai Peninsula or just taking some time to relax. It is a great value, less expensive than other motels we found in neighboring towns and you get so much more! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here one night (July 2012), Wish I could have stayed all week! You basically have a house all to your self. It is the most spacious B&B we have ever stayed. Also, it was very clean, and comfortable. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at. (Alaska & lower 48) The setting is peaceful and serene. Wonderful place to relax.

Breakfast is make your own, with many options provided. Good place to stay if you are visiting Hope and surrounding area.

We would stay here again, we want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LakeMichiganSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 63640 Resurrection Creek Road, Hope, AK 99605
Location: United States > Alaska > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Black Bear Bed & Breakfast Hope, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing