We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ZipRider EVER!”

Icy Strait Point ZipRider
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaskan sized adventure! This is it, the world's largest zip-line: 5,330 feet long, 1,300 foot vertical drop, 60 mph maximum speed, 300 feet highest point from ground, 1.5 minute ride time! If you are looking for true adventure then the ZipRider is for you. Unlike anything you've seen before the ZipRider cable ride at Icy Strait Point is truly a once in a lifetime experience. Your adventure begins when you board your bus for the ride to the top the mountain. Your driver will narrate as you pass through the village of Hoonah and then up the mountainside. Once on top you will take a short walk to the launching area. At 1,300 feet above sea level you will sit into a special harness seat and await your launch. Six guests launch at once, and it is a race to the bottom! 3, 2, 1 and you're off, accelerating to 60 mph as you pass 300 feet above the treetops. If your eyes are still open you will see sweeping views of Port Frederick, Icy Strait and your cruise ship far below. Your ZipRide concludes with a break-activated landing on the beach back at Icy Strait Point.Participants must be between 90 and 275 pounds and be comfortable with heights. This ride is not recommended for individuals with back or neck problems, or who are pregnant. Photos will be available at the end of your ride!
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best ZipRider EVER!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Can't say enough about this exhilarating ride! Longest in the world (over 1 mile) and 300 feet above the Alaskan tree tops. Soar like an eagle while you overlook the breathtaking, gorgeous Alaskan coastline. The best $99 you'll ever spend. Travel by bus through private Alaskan forest and mountain, and see wildlife on your way. Our son-in-law, who was afraid of heights prior to this, overcame his fear and said he would gladly spend $200 to do it again. So, we're going again next summer. By the way, this is a great whale-watching port also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    27
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosamond, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Zip, Ziping Along!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a great attraction. The 40 minute ride to the top of the mountain gave breathing views and wildlife spotting. I was on the 'zipline' farther to the left which turns out to travel the slowest. This was perfect for photographing the others in our group. Boardwalk takes you back to shops, which offer some very nice 'Made in Alaska' clothing, jewerly and bath products.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovin6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scenic, too expensive and not that fast”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for an adrenaline kind of attraction. Then this is not for you.
It is more a scenic viewing. But have we been on a helicopter flightseeing it really didn't make nothing new, except for the wind on the face, lol.
It is really cool, but a little overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank krizkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zip Rider”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The longest and fastest zip rider in the world is in Icy Strait Point in Alaska. The port is accessible by cruise ship and you have to tender to the port. I wanted my teen children to do it while I waited in port, but they were not allowed to go alone as you need to sign waivers, so I needed to accompany them. I was not the only mother accompanying a teen child. I don't know what the minimum age is. The zip rider adventure begins with a 45 min school bus ride up the mountain, partly bumpy dirt road, with scenic views. Our driver was a native Tlingkit and gave us a commentary about the community and nature. You are dropped off at a landing area and then walk down a rather steep gravel path the width of a one-lane road about 5 minutes to the zip-line. There are porta-potties at the landing site for use prior to the ride. The zip rider allows 6 passengers at a time, no helmets but safely strapped into a nylon chair. You need to be fit enough to walk down the path and also hold your weight up against the door of the zip-line at a 90degree angle. It is not for the faint of heart. I had my SLR camera with me and they said I could take pictures on the way down - I thought they were crazy - but I did take pictures on the way down! They release you with a one-two-three, the gate opens and away you go. It is a thrilling fantastic ride, smooth and scenic and quite a thrill,approximately 90 seconds down. The stop is somewhat abrupt, but the adrenalin is pumping and you hardly notice it. I would have done it again, if I had the time. The price is a bit steep, but it is a once in a lifetime experience and totally worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bala793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great fun but too expensive.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Overall it was great fabulous view and a good tour but i think they could of lowered the price a bit. $120 bucks a ride is pretty expensive - but everyone there is a captive tourist being dropped off by the cruise ship. Ride was exciting - including the trip up (bus driver was friendly and funnny).

TIP - ask for goggles!. They tell people who have glasses or contacts to put on goggles but I wish I had as well. The ride at times is so fast that the wind keeps your eyes shut and full of tears. Imagine sticking your head out the window of your car while it is driving 60 miles per hour and try holding your eyes open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank I_Roam_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icy Strait Point ZipRider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing