We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views! And more Views”
Review of Icy Strait Point

Icy Strait Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Icy Strait Point is located in the town of Hoonah on Chichagof Island. We are a quick 20 minute flight from Juneau, Alaska. Icy Strait Point is the only private cruise ship destination in Alaska; we offer over 20 different shore excursions including ATVs, biking, kayaking, nature tours, the best whale watching in Alaska and the world's largest and highest zipline ride. We also have 3 waterfront restaurants with breathtaking views offering some of the freshest seafood you will ever eat. Don't miss our unique shopping center, a free museum, walking trails, etc.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Views! And more Views”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were part of a cruise and one of our stops was Hoonah, and Icy Strait. My wife and I , and I expect another 2000 people, are really glad we stopped there. We were blessed with a crystal clear day and there were incredible views for about a 360 degrees. We took the shuttle bus into the town and enjoyed meeting a few folks, seeing eagles, just walking around, and a great lunch. All the views were astounding. 800 or so people who call Hoonah home are pretty fortunate and I realize we weren't there in the winter but the beauty is special as is Icy Strait and Hoonah.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DalenM782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    201
    81
    27
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fishing was fine but follow-up not as promised”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

For our shore excursion at Icy Strait Point we decided to go Halibut fishing, which was very good! The captain was super and everyone caught halibut and had a good time. The problem was with getting our fish shipped to us, which we chose to do at a pretty hefty cost for overnight, next-day FedEx. The people promised we would receive an e-mail when the fish shipped so we could be prepared but we never got that e-mail. Also, the fish were to be shipped frozen and sent with FedEx overnight (1 day) to the address we gave them. It turned out to actually be 2 days from the time the fish left Icy Strait Point, and since we did not get an e-mail, the package was left on the doorstep and was not found for 7 hours. The fish were put into a Styrofoam box inside of a cardboard box (frozen fish) but did not appear to have been packed in any type of ice or dry ice so they were partially thawed on arrival in our kitchen. Moral of the story, be very careful paying lots of money to have fish shipped from this place! We will be reporting this problem to the cruise line as well as the provider.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
376 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a port in Alaska that I had never heard of, but really enjoyed. The are was filled with things to do from Indian Dance Sow to a salmon cooking lesson. The shops carried a variety of Alaskan Merchandise.

Ther are three restaurants to eat at. A Crab Shack, a BBQ Joint and a burger spot. We ate at the burger spot and the food was good and not badly priced. When your ship stops there be sure to get off and enjoy the friendly people and all the port has to offer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CubFan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Simply beautiful!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Our first stop on our cruise and a favorite! Beautiful scenery with beautiful people and such rich culture and love!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small town, wonderful, friendly people”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had never heard of Icy Strait Point, before seeing shore excursions listed on my cruise information. Cruise ships are unable to dock, so everyone has to be tendered in to shore. The history of this small settlement is really interesting and everyone was very, friendly and eager to answer questions. I would like to be able to go again and see more than what I was able to see while I was there. Would recommend going to Icy Strait. Great time there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icy Strait Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing