We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bisque in Seclusion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crab Station at Icy Strait Point

The Crab Station at Icy Strait Point
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hoonah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Crab does not get anyfresher than this! Our freshly caught Dungeness crab is as fresh as you can get! Open Daily through the season we offer the best Alaska has to offer, Fresh Crab and Cold Beer! Stop by the dock in the morning to watch our staff take the crab straight from the water to the cleaning table where they clean and prep the crab for cooking. We have seating available on the dock or you can stroll around the corner to join friends at the open seating Cookhouse Restaurant. Open daily through Dungeness Crab season.
Porterville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bisque in Seclusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ostensibly, Hoonah is only accessible (emphasis on "accessible") by cruiseline, and Celebrity and her sister ships at that. Nevertheless, when one comes ashore they instantly greeted by this quaint little joint. The crab bisque is the most delectable bisque I've ever had--even more than the stellar lobster bisque I've had throughout Maine and Canada's maritime provinces. One should not scoff at the exorbitant fare they charge for their food. All pricing is relative and Hoonah is pretty isolated, denoting higher prices. Beer prices are actually prety nominal, far less than they are at a ball game!
Bring your poncho for it rains incessantly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigtule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh crab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our first stop on our cruise and I was dying for some crab. I was slightly hesitant at the price but decided it must be worth it. It most definitely was. The snow crab was so fresh and tasty, and was steamed perfectly, not over done, just perfect.

The woman behind the counter grace us a taste of the king crab while we waited and that too was delicious. I wish I could have eaten a pound of that as well!

If you take the Alaskan cruise do not hesitate to get your crab fix here. It was sooo much better than the crab we got in Ketchikan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbarlee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good crab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very good crab, but if you're headed on to Juneau with a cruise and only plan to splurge on crab once, don't miss Tracy's Crab Shack. BUT, if, like us, you indulge more than once, The Crab Station comes a close second.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfoshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“End of the day treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a great day at Icy Strait! I really didn't have to wait long, except for the crab to steam. Most people had already returned to the ship.I got King Crab legs and really enjoyed them. It was raining and I ate with my husband in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fungusqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, MS
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good crab, wait and ordering not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

First, the snow crab was really good. The lady taking orders was a crab also, not so friendly or helpful. The wait was a little long and they really didn't have anything in place like an order number or such. Because of this you had to push your way to the counter when your order was complete. There are a few tables on the pier, it was raining so nice they had umbrellas over them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank umtigerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Station at Icy Strait Point also viewed

 

Been to The Crab Station at Icy Strait Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing