We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day of Fishing & Whalewatching”

Misty Bay Lodge Whalewatching
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic day of Fishing & Whalewatching”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many thanks to Hope & Captain Dan for arranging such a wonderful day in Icy Strait. We had four in our group and were interested in fishing & whalewatching. After talking to Hope, she suggested a full day on the boat with a little bit of both. It was fantastic! Capt. Dan knew where the whales were and we saw at least a dozen Humpbacks and lucky enough to see three Orcas as well. Some came so close to the boat we could almost touch them. He also had a device that he set up where we could hear the whales, and that was amazing! Such magnificent creatures. After a few hours of whalewatching,we changed location and the fishing part of the trip took place - much success with cod & halibut! All in all, the day was fantastic and one of the highlights of our Alaskan trip. I strongly urge anyone that will be in Icy Strait for a few hours, and are interested in one of the best excursions ever, to contact Hope at Misty Bay Lodge. (We also went Whalewatching in Juneau ,and Icy Strait was by far 100% better - many more whales sighted)). Thanks Dan & Hope. Hope to see you again someday!
Winnie
PS - The boat would accomodate up to six people very comfortably. There is a cabin and a bathroom on board. and a "viewing" area on top of the boat. A very comfortable vessel in somwhat calm waters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bucket List!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved our whale watching excursion with Hope & Dan. They are wonderful people and are happy to answer all questions. We booked early (December for June excursion). Their boat only holds 6 people, but you will not feel "motion." This is so much better than the cruise ship excursions that hold about 100 people! Hope met us right at the gate in Icy Point and quickly got us on board for our excursion. Capt. Dan got us super close to the whales and re-positioned us for the best viewing. The upper deck is great for photo opportunities. The homemade cookies were yummy! Our small group of 6 kept saying "I just can't believe this." If this is on your bucket list (like mine) you won't be disappointed with Misty Bay Lodge!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellseeker104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Capt Dan and Hope are wonderful people”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our best shore excursion ever. Such great people and loved being on that boat with Capt. Dan and only one other couple. You must book with them and no one else if your cruise takes you to Icy Point Strait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beecheekeen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the best whale watching has to offer. Capt Dan was able to position his boat better than any other Capt out there. It is a huge bonus to have a viewing platform atop the pilot hose, unlike the other private boats. Plus, with only having 6 people on board, you avoid getting trampled every time a whale is spotted. This was one of the best tours of our vacation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotan, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Alaska experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went on a short fishing excursion with Capt. Dan while on a cruise. He and Donnie took excellent care of my wheelchair bound wife, myself, son-in-law, and 7 year old grandson. They could not have been more accomodating and helpful, and we caught lots of halibut! Capt. Dan & Hope sat down and had a beer and some wonderful conversation when we got back. Felt like family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misty Bay Lodge Whalewatching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing